What To Watch Next: British Murder Mystery

Recently I discovered a fantastic new (to me) whodunnit, Father Brown!  Set in a small English village in the Cotswolds in the 1950s, a Catholic priest armed with nothing but an umbrella tools around on his bicycle solving murders. It’s delightful! Fans of Grantchester, Poirot, Miss Marple, Agatha Raisin, etc. will love Father Brown. I sure do!

If you have Netflix you can watch Father Brown with your subscription HERE. You can buy the DVDs or buy it streaming on Amazon.

The series is based on the cozy mystery novels (Of course, at that time they were just called mysteries!) written in the early 1900s by GK Chesterton. You can grab them FREE at Project Gutenberg. Or you can grab all the books in a box set for 99 cents on Amazon. I’ve got it on my Kindle and plan to read it soon!

There were earlier TV series made in the 60s and 70s, but this one started in 2013. And best of all? There are 60 episodes! Not going to run out any time soon. 🙂 If that wasn’t enough, the local police inspector is played by Hugo Speers (I’m a fan).

From Wikipedia:

The series is set during the early 1950s, in the fictional Cotswold village of Kembleford, where Father Brown, priest at St Mary’s Catholic Church, solves murder cases. This is much to the exasperation of a bumbling police inspector who often arrests the wrong suspect. Father Brown uses the distinctive skills of his close friends as well as his own wits to solve cases, occasionally to the neglect of his more mundane parish duties. His vocation as a priest often gives him an insight to the truth, so that justice (but occasionally, not the letter of the law) may be served; also in this regard, obeying the Seal of the Confessional often presents unique circumstances. The time period is during Britain’s emergence from the hardships of the Second World War. The death penalty, which Father Brown opposes, is still in effect for capital crimes such as murder.

Haven’t seen it? Give it a go! I think you’ll enjoy Father Brown as much as I do.

Seen it? Let me know what you think! Did you enjoy it?

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s