Kick The Muse: Keeping The Creative Juices Flowing

Inspiration

I wish I had a dollar for every time someone asked, “Where do you get your ideas?” Or “How can you be so creative?” Or “How do you write so much?”

The truth is, ideas come from EVERYWHERE. And creativity…well, that flows as long as you let it. Frankly the whole “muse” thing drives me a little nuts. Creativity is a choice. Sitting around and waiting for the spirit to move you will lead to nothing but a whole lot of wasted time. Every successful, full-time novelist I know personally writes regardless of who they feel.

Let me repeat that for those in the back:

Every successful, full-time novelist I know personally writes regardless of how they feel.

They don’t sit around waiting for inspiration to strike. Oh, sure, some days are better than others, but there are tips and tricks for giving that Muse a kick in the…pants. Personally, my “Plotting Journal” method has been one of the best things for that. (Read more about that HERE.) But there are other ways to make your space feel inspirational.

I love this article on Inspiring Workspaces of the Famously Creative. Seeing other writers’ workspaces is always interesting to me. However, not everyone has the room for their own office and must work at the kitchen table or on the sofa. Others find that working in a public space such as a coffee shop is the only way they’re going to get anything done. Regardless of how much (or little) space you have, here are some ideas for jazzing it up and increasing creative flow (Yes, I’ve tried them all!):

Make It Visual: Humans are visual creatures. Fill up a Memory Board not with memories, but with images that inspire you. Or go modern and create a collage on Picmonkey

Witchblood collage
Collage for Witchblood Series

Make It Cozy: Set aside a corner of your office as a reading haven. I like to sit in mine to plot my novels. Getting away from the desk gives me a fresh perspective. Even if you don’t have an entire office to yourself, you can probably find one small corner to make your own. 

Make It Outside: Sometimes nothing else will do but to get away from your own space and shake it up with something new. Maybe that’s just a quick walk through a park. Or maybe it’s a weekend at the beach. Change your space and change your mindset. 

Make It Verbal: If you’re like me, there’s nothing quite like talking over your current Work in Progress to really stir up the old creative juices. Whenever I’m stuck on a project, I sit down with a trusted friend and brainstorm the heck out of it. I always walk away buzzing with ideas. Another option is to try a diction program such as Dragon Naturally Speaking. There’s something about being forced to use a different part of the brain to create that can really get things moving again.

Want more writing tips? Sign up for my Writing Tips Newsletter HERE.

Leave a Reply

