10 Things I Learned from Nora Roberts: My #RWA Experience

Earlier this month I attended the RWA Nationals in San Diego. The three week trip covered much more than the RWA conference and San Diego, but I’ll get to that later. For now I want to share some of my amazing experiences at RWA. Because I fan girled. HARD.

One of the wonderful things about RWA is being able to hang out with friends. It’s image2especially awesome when you get to meet other writers with whom you’ve been friends a long time online, but have never met in person. One such was the uber awesome Tracy Brogan!

We’ve talked so much online, I already felt like I knew her. After all, we share a mutual love of things Supernatural (and Jensen Ackles).

I also got to meet Zoe York (EEK!). We sat and had a glass of wine together while we talked about Navy SEALS, Vikings in Space, and erotic romance. HUZZAH! Zoe also encouraged me in a Sooper Secret Project. Stay tuned… 😉

image4
Nalini Sing (L) and yours truly.

As for fan girl moments, there were plenty. I got to see/meet two of my ultimate favorite paranormal romance authors: Jayne Castle (Jayne Ann Krentz) and Nalini Singh. OHMYSQUEE! Both were very gracious about my fan girlling. Probably they’re used to it.

One of the best moimage3ments of the entire conference was getting to hear Nora Roberts speak. She is sooo much cooler than I ever would have imagined. She cusses, ya’ll! Like, kind of a lot. It’s like I found my spirit guide. lol

10 Things I Learned from Nora Roberts:

1. Wine is good.

2. Write the things.

3. I am not alone in my obsessive love of TV shows and movies. (And it’s okay to obsessively love those things and watch them a lot.)

4. Hating literary broccoli is okay.

5. She doesn’t believe in inspiration. She believes in dedication. (Rock on!)

6. “Whatever works, works.” (In regards to writing process.)

7. This is not a job for the weak spirited or weak spined.

8. Every book gets harder. (Amen, to that.)

9. Don’t write what you know. Write what you want to find out.

10. “Just puke it out.” You can fix it later. (In regards to the first draft of a novel.)

Leave a Reply

