#PassionInPortland Author Spotlight: #ParanormalRomance & #ContemporaryRomance Author Shea MacLeod

I figured it was only fair I answer my own questions, since everyone else had to. So, just in time for Passion In Portland tomorrow, I present you our final author: Me!

Deathwalker_200x300What sparked the idea for your latest novel? Was there a specific “Ah—ha!” moment?

My most recently published work is the second book in the Sunwalker Saga:Witchblood series, Deathwalker. The series come from my inability to let go of the world I’d created in the original Sunwalker Saga. But Deathwalker itself was a little more..complicated.

I knew I’d write Lene’s story at some point. It had to happen, of course. And I knew she was a Deathwalker (a witch who senses death and can sometimes speak to the dead). But that was about it. The story really came together when Lucien Antonelli, a man with a few extra special powers himself, came swaggering through my brain. I have zero idea what sparked him, but there he was in all his witchy glory. The story just flowed after that. 

Tell us about your hero and heroine? What makes them and their story unique?

Again, I’m going to talk Deathwalker since its my newest. I probably had some of the most fun writing Lene. She’s smart and snarky and full of ‘tude (not unlike our favorite vampire hunter, Morgan Bailey). But deep down, she just wants someone to love and accept her for who and what she is. A very special witch with extraordinary, and downright scary, powers.

Lucien, well, he’s not quite human. And he’s one of the sexiest men I’ve ever written. And that’s all I’m going to say about that. 😉

 Why do you write Romance? Why your specific sub-genre of romance?

I love reading all sorts of genres, but I always think that everything is better with a little (or a LOT) of romance. Even during my epic fantasy phase or reading Agatha Christie as a child, I really thought, “You know what this book needs? More romance!”

And that’s also why I write multiple genres of romance: paranormal, scifi, and contemporary for starters. Because I love to READ all sorts of genres of romance. Why settle for just one thing? It’s like only ever eating one flavor of ice cream.

What’s the funniest thing that ever happened to you at a signing?

I had a woman walk right up to me and declare herself my official stalker. We’re still Facebook friends. lol

Now for the Lightening Round! Answer these fast and quick (ala the Hot Seat questions on Inside the Actor’s Studio)

 Chocolate or vanilla? Chocolate. Always.

 Where do you write? My office usually.

 Favorite romance novel plot device? A crazy instant spark that one (or more) of the characters try to deny at first.

 What trait in a man do you find most sexy? Physically, his eyes. Emotionally, a sense of humor and the ability to really listen. The sexiness of listening is underrated, I think.

 Least sexy? Rudeness/Arrogance (I find they usually go together.)

 Your book is going to be made into a movie! Who plays the lead roles? 

Rebel Wilson as Lene Davenport

Lene Davenport: I could totally see her being played by Rebel Wilson. She’s got the snark for sure.

 

 

Adam Rodriguez as Lucien AtonelliLucien Antonelli: Hands down, Adam Rodriguez.

 

 

 

As for my bio and links, you can find them on the bar above. Hope to see you all tomorrow at Passion in Portland!

14417_820413928021892_7832462055462425429_n

Leave a Reply

