#PassionInPortland Author Spotlight: #ContemporaryRomance Author Jaycee Ford

Next author up on our Passion in Portland author round up is the super cool Jaycee Ford!

What sparked the idea for your latest novel? Was there a specific “Ah—ha!” moment?

My soon to published fourth novel is the last in the Love Bug series entitled Mosquito Chase. I hadn’t actually planned a fourth book for this series. I had published Watching Fireflies in August 2014 and it became an Amazon Bestselling Romantic Suspense the first day. I was floored that my debut had been so well received. I followed up with Dragonfly Awakening soon after in September. After I released Hornet’s Nest in February 2015, everyone kept asking, “What about Caleb? He needs a story.” A buzz then echoed in the back of my head much like it had for the first three bug books, and I plotted out Mosquito Chase, a romantic suspense starring everyone’s favorite cowboy cop and a pesky girl everyone loves to hate. Mosquito Chase is to be released November 25th.

Tell us about your hero and heroine? What makes them and their story unique?

Angela Butler had her name dragged through the mud in my first three novels. She was never labeled the villain, but she wasn’t loved by any means. The most challenging thing about her was to show the readers that everyone has their own story. Just because she was portrayed in a certain way didn’t mean she was that way at all. As Caleb Harris gets to know her in Mosquito Chase, the readers will see her in a different light. Without a doubt, she’s probably my favorite heroine in the series.

Why do you write Romance? Why your specific sub-genre of romance?

Romance is the only genre where you can live out a happily ever after. Books in general are an escape from everyday life. I write romance to give people an escape to a happily ever after. My focus thus far as an author has been new adult westerns with an edge of suspense. I can’t imagine anything better than a happily ever after with a hot cowboy.

What’s the funniest thing that ever happened to you at a signing?

I still consider myself a newbie and not well known by any means. I signed at the Booking in Biloxi signing in March along with AJ Harmon. This was my second signing and I was still green by every definition. While just barely into the signing, someone came to my table and screamed (yes, screamed) “Oh my God, you’re Jaycee Ford!” I attempted to crawl back into my shell, unfortunately realizing that I was not a turtle.

Now for the Lightening Round! Answer these fast and quick (ala the Hot Seat questions on Inside the Actor’s Studio)

Chocolate or vanilla?

Chocolate

Where do you write?

In my room, behind closed doors.

Favorite romance novel plot device?

Enemies that fall in love. I love combative emotions.

What trait in a man do you find most sexy?

Physically, eyes; Characteristically, honesty

Least sexy?

Physically, feet; Characteristically, big egos

Your book is going to be made into a movie! Who plays the lead roles?

If we could somehow get Colin Firth to wear a cowboy hat …

How about a bowler hat? 😉

bowler-the-kings-speech

 

IMG_3047Mosquito Chase – release date 11/25/2015
Blurb:
Caleb Harris devotes his life to serve and protect his small North Carolina town, but once the badge comes off, he does little to protect the hearts of women. Everything he thought he knew about crime and women is tested when a knock on the door brings him face to face with the last person he ever wanted to see.
 
Determined to break free of the rumors surrounding her past, Angela Butler abandons her small town, chasing a fresh start. When being in the wrong place at the wrong time makes her a target of the drug cartel, she has no choice but to go back to the world she tried so hard to forget.
 
Goodreads link: 
 
IMG_3148Bio:
Jaycee Ford grew up chasing street cars around the city of New Orleans. After doing a four year stint at Louisiana State University, she earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in History and fled for the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains. New Orleans beckoned her home again where she put her love of the foothills into a series of romance novels. In between writing, she’s found behind her desk at a top rated law firm … or still chasing street cars.
 
Leave a Reply

