#PassionInPortland Author Spotlight: #ParanormalRomance Author Brandy L. Rivers

assion in Portland is looming ever closer. And guess who is going to be there? The super awesome paranormal romance author, Brandy L. Rivers. She’s got a new book coming out August 31st, but more about that later. For now, let’s get inside her brain (figuratively, of course!):

What sparked the idea for Changing Destiny? Was there a specific “Ah—ha!” moment?

Yes, there was. I told one of my alpha readers I was going to let the main character in Changing Destiny Sacrifice himself. This was a few books ago, and at the time I had no HEA in mind for him so it made sense. She begged me not to. A book later I introduced a new character and their story unfolded in my head. So, you can blame Kristin Mayer for talking me out of killing Scotty off.

Tell us about your hero and heroine? What makes them and their story unique?

Scotty is a wood nymph from Faery. Jayde is also from Faery but a Paineater. Their story starts more than two hundred and fifty years ago. He gave up all women to court her, but then the queen of the water realm stepped in, tricked him, and destroyed their destiny.  Neither could ever let the other go, though they did their damnedest to try. It takes them years to finally come back together and get their destiny back on track.

 Why do you write Romance? Why your specific sub-genre of romance? 

I can’t stop writing. I would write any genre if the story presents itself. So far I’m mostly a paranormal romance author. That’s where most of my stories lie. I do have a couple contemporary ones, and I’m panning a Scifi Romance and a Romantic suspense next year but I really just follow the characters who jump up and down in my head demanding attention.

 What’s the funniest thing that ever happened to you at a signing?

I had a woman convinced I was shifter. Granted I write shifters, among other things, but last I checked I can’t shift into an animal.

Now for the Lightening Round! Answer these fast and quick (ala the Hot Seat questions on Inside the Actor’s Studio)

 Chocolate or vanilla? Chocolate

 Where do you write? Everywhere. I usually have my laptop with me.

 Favorite romance novel plot device? Um, I don’t use plot devices. I just follow my characters lead.

 What trait in a man do you find most sexy? Totally depends on the man.

 Least sexy? Has double-standards

 Your book is going to be made into a movie! Who plays the lead roles?

Kellen
Endiscott or Scotty – Kellan Lutz
Gem_smiles
Jayde – Gemma Arterton

 

Endiscott or Scotty – Kellen Lutz

Jayde – Gemma Arterton

New paranormal romance from Brandy L. Rivers!
New paranormal romance from Brandy L. Rivers!

Changing Destiny by Brandy L. Rivers

Adult Paranormal Romance

On sale August 31st. Available for preorder NOW:

 AmazonGoogleplayiTunes, BN, and Kobo

One decision can alter your destiny.

The nymph every woman desired swept Jayde off her feet, but an oath put Scotty in Saressa’s path. To protect Jayde, he did everything in his power to keep her from Saressa’s wicked clutches.

Years later—and finally free—Scotty catches a glimpse of Jayde. After everything he put her through he struggles with the decision to mend their broken love… or let her go.

Convinced she had been wrong about Scotty and their future, Jayde has moved on. An old friend pushes them together, but her heart has been battered.

With her hold on Scotty broken, Saressa will stop at nothing to regain control.

In an effort to convince Jayde she’s the only one, Scotty must rebuild the happiness stolen from them both. Or will Saressa change destiny once again?

 

Leave a Reply

