#PASSIONINPORTLAND AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT: #RomanticSuspense AUTHOR Crystal Perkins

Next up on ye olde blog is Crystal Perkins. She’ll be attending Passion in Portland and I’m looking forward to meeting her in person! Crystal writes romantic suspense novels about female spies. Frankly, that sounds fabulous!

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000038_00072]What sparked the idea for your latest novel? Was there a specific “Ah—ha!” moment?

Tending Their SECRET is the 8th book in my Corrigan & Co. series. Ellie and Aiden were already reader favorites, and I knew I had to go big with them.  Since they were continuing characters, I had set up a little bit of their background in other books, but I wanted a big shock at the beginning of the book, so that’s what I gave the reader—an opening prologue that would be completely unexpected.

I will also say that I had a cold, so my cold medicine and all the Magic Mike XXL commercials I kept seeing while writing, may have inspired a specific scene!

Tell us about your hero and heroine? What makes them and their story unique?

Ellie is one of the agents in the Society, which is a secret organization of female spies to try to write the wrongs of the world. She’s always been tough, in fact the guys in the books refer to her as “Brass.” Her parents were bar owners and she grew up with brothers, which turned her into a tough woman who embraces her sexuality and wears corsets quite frequently. Until she’s captured on a mission, where she’s tortured, and loses who she is for a little while. She has to find her way back to the woman she once was while trying to protect the man she loves from a threat he’s hiding from her.

Aiden has always been a lone wolf—he’s a former military man who is also a hard core vigilante. One of his two best friends is Matt Corrigan, so he knows all about the Society, and has helped out in the past. He finally admitted that he loved Ellie a few books ago, but then he left. He came back a few times, and then finally wanted to take the leap and have a relationship with her. As their story opens, he wakes up to find that he’s not only missing days of his life, he also left Ellie alone on a mission he was backing her up on. Needing to help her, but unable to face her after letting her down, he goes to his father for help. Aiden is a man who will torture and kill a bad guy without blinking an eye, but will then be sweet with Ellie, and show her love and understanding as she navigates the woman she’s trying to become.

Why do you write Romance? Why your specific sub-genre of romance? 

I love reading romance books, and although I never thought I would write one, I am now loving them. I have to have an HEA, so I always make sure I have one in my books, even if it’s a hard road to getting there sometimes.

I write in two genres. My first series (The Griffin Brothers) was New Adult. I fell in love with NA books, and so those were my first choice when I decided to write. I like the idea of people in their early twenties finding their way. Only one of the brothers is in college during his book, because I think writing about after college is just as important.

My current series (Corrigan & Co.) is Romantic Suspense. I grew up on Nancy Drew, and Charlie’s Angels. There is not much more I love than spies and detectives when I watch a T.V. show or movie. I read a lot of books about security agencies with men, but I wanted to see the women going undercover. I absolutely love adding in twists to shock the readers, along with the romance and sex.

What’s the funniest thing that ever happened to you at a signing?

I haven’t had too many funny things happen yet. I did have a woman at Love N. Vegas come up to me this year, and tell me I needed more pens for swag (I have 2 kinds currently), because Yasmin loves pens so much in Gaming For Love. That was funny to me, because she was walking by as she said it, and didn’t seem interested in my table at all until she yelled that out to me!

Now for the Lightening Round! Answer these fast and quick (ala the Hot Seat questions on Inside the Actor’s Studio)

Chocolate or vanilla? Chocolate

 

Where do you write? In bed with a lap desk normally, but I can write (and read) anywhere.

 

Favorite romance novel plot device? The grand gesture

 

What trait in a man do you find most sexy? loyalty

 

Least sexy? cheating

 

You’re book is going to be made into a movie! Who plays the lead roles? I honestly don’t know. While I always find photos of what I think my characters will look like before I start writing, actors are never in the mix!

 

 2014-06-01_17_26_471Bio:

Crystal Perkins has always been a big reader, but she never thought she would write her own book, until she did. She lives in Las Vegas, where you can find her running author events and selling books at conventions when she isn’t reading, buying too many Sherlock t-shirts online or finding a place to put all of her Pop! figurines. A mac and cheese connoisseur, she travels the country looking for the perfect version, while attending book conventions and signings as a cover for her research.
You can find Crystal’s website HERE and on Facebook HERE.
You can find Tending Their Secret HERE.
Tending Their SECRET blurb:
A woman who’s been battered, but won’t be broken…

Elletra Gallagher has always been confident, strong, and tougher than most men. Until she’s captured and tortured while going against her mission parameters. Now she has to find a way back to herself while protecting the man she loves.

A man who needs to be saved, but won’t ask for help…

Aiden Ford wasn’t there when Ellie needed him, but he vows to help her heal in any way he can, while keeping his own problem to himself. He knows his friends would help him, but he can’t admit any weakness, even to the woman he loves.

Can they tend to each other while hiding from themselves, or will the secrets pour over and keep them apart once again?

Leave a Reply

