A Fist Full of Evil: An Interview With Rebecca Chastain

Today on ye olde blogge I’ve got the lovely Rebecca Chastain, author of the urban fantasy, A Fist Full of Evil.

Rebecca Chastain has found seven four-leaf clovers to date, won a purebred Arabian horse in a drawing, and once tamed a blackbird for a day. She has been employed as a VHS sales clerk, bookshelf straightener, government pseudo-employee, professional finder of lost sporting goods, and strategy guide wrangler in the video game industry. 

A Fistful of Evil - Ebook_Compress2We’re talking about a few of our favorite things.

SM: What was your favorite book as a kid?

RC: Bunnicula by Deborah and James Howe and The Black Cauldron by Lloyd Alexander are two books I remember fondly. My mom and I took turns reading these books aloud to each other in the evenings (among many others) but these two stand out as books that I kept thinking about after I finished them. They are both so imaginative and fun, and they undoubtedly played a hand in cementing my love of all things fantasy.

SM: What is your favorite romance novel?

RC: Jacqueline Carey’s Kushiel’s Dart is my all-time favorite romance fantasy novel. It doesn’t hurt that the story spans six books and is a backstory of three others, either. Every time I reread the series, I fall into Carey’s world and don’t want to come up for air.

(SM: OMG! I loved that series so, so much!)

SM: Who are your favorite authors (the ones you one-click)?

RC: I could easily fill this page with my favorites, but if I had to be extremely picky, I would say Naomi Novik, Kim Harrison, Ilona Andrews, Brandon Sanderson. And Jayne Castle. And Ann Aguirre. And Gail Carriger. And Linnea Sinclair. And…

(SM: Were we separated at birth? So many of those are my one clicks. I had a total fangirl moment the day I got to meet Ann Aguirre. But I digress…)

SM: What is your favorite paranormal creature to write about?

RC: The easy answer is dragons, but I haven’t written about dragons yet! They’re in the works, but other books jumped the queue. I enjoyed creating cute-scary imps in A Fistful of Evil. They’re unique to Madison Fox’s world, and the juxtaposition of these adorable chinchilla-like creatures who have a shark’s amount of teeth and eat your soul made for some fun situations.

(SM: Dragons! YESYESYES!)

Thanks, Rebecca!

More on Rebecca’s book:

A Fistful of Evil:

Madison Fox just learned that her ability to see souls is more than a sight: It’s a weapon for fighting evil. The only problem is she doesn’t have a clue what she’s doing.

On the positive side, her money problems are over, she’s possibly discovered her purpose in life, and her coworker is smoking hot. On the negative side, evil creatures now actively hunt her, and deadly experiences are becoming the norm.

When she thinks it couldn’t get worse, a powerful evil sets up shop at a local hotel’s video game convention, and it’s got its eye on more than the gaming geeks: it is hungry for Madison’s soul. Madison needs to become an expert illuminant enforcer overnight to save her job, her region . . . and her life.

Amazon: http://smarturl.it/FistfulEvil

Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/a-fistful-of-evil-rebecca-chastain/1120170169?ean=2940150422612

iBooks: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/fistful-evil-urban-fantasy/id917456742?mt=11

Kobo: http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/a-fistful-of-evil

 

2 thoughts on “A Fist Full of Evil: An Interview With Rebecca Chastain

Leave a Reply

