What To Read Next: A Hint Of Frost #fantasy #paranormal #books

I probably picked up this book back when it was published in 2012. Probably. I don’t even remember. And probably it was free. Or maybe 99 cents. Certainly it was on sale at the time. So, I bought it, loaded it on my Kindle, and there it sat.

My Kindle has approximate 7 million books on it and it’s slowed to the point of turning me homicidal. I decided I needed to go through all those stacks and stacks (virtual stacks, that is) of books I had downloaded and not gotten around to reading. I admit, I’ve tossed out a LOT of books. Some I found didn’t interest me. Some were well written but not to my taste. Some were just plain…awful. Out of ten books I probably deleted 9.

61eMGxNUbVLAnd then I stumbled across this little book by Hailey Edwards called A Hint of Frost. It’s the first book in the Araneae Nation Series (do not ask me to pronounce that). I had no idea what it was about so I dove in. I was hoping I’d finally found a book to enjoy.

I wasn’t disappointed.

I was hooked.

I’m not even sure how to explain the book. I guess it’s fantasy? It’s definitely romance. There’s a hint of paranormal. Somebody compared it to Game of Thrones. I guess? Ish? Except the author doesn’t kill everybody and there’s no incest.

The world building is fascinating. The characters believable. The romance made me happy. And the overarching story line grabbed was interesting. I immediately grabbed the second book in the series as soon as I finished reading Frost (although I will wait to read it until I’ve cleared out my Kindle a bit more).

Murder. Deception. Poison. Mystery. Sexy men. And bears with saddles. What’s not to like?

I’m also excited because it appears Edwards has a novel involve an archangel (yum!) plus a second paranormal series that involves…I’m not sure. Demons, maybe? Anyway, they look fantastic and I can’t wait to read them. This author goes in my “favorites” file.

From Amazon:

Hope dangles by a silken thread.

Araneae Nation, Book 1

When the head of the Araneidae clan is found poisoned in her nest, her eldest daughter, Lourdes, becomes their clan’s new maven. If her clan is to survive, she has but one choice: she must marry before her nest is seized. All she needs is a warrior fierce enough to protect her city and safeguard her clansmen. Such a male is Rhys the Cold.

Born the youngest son of an impoverished maven, the only things Rhys has to his name are his sword and his mercenary reputation. His clan is starving, but their fondness for the flesh of fellow Araneaeans makes them unwelcome dinner guests. Torn between loyalty to his clan and fascination with his future bride, Rhys’s first taste of Lourdes threatens to melt the cold encasing his heart.

Amid the chaos of battle, Lourdes’s sister disappears and is feared captured. Lourdes and Rhys pursue their enemies into the southlands, where they discover an odd plague ravaging southern clans as it travels north, to Erania. Determined to survive, Lourdes will discover whether she’s worth her silk or if she’s spun the thread by which her clan will hang.

Warning: This book contains one mercenary hero with a biting fetish, one determined heroine who gets nibbled, and an answer to the age-old question, “What does dragon taste like?” Matricide and sibling rivalry are available upon request. The house special is revenge, best served cold.

3 thoughts on “What To Read Next: A Hint Of Frost #fantasy #paranormal #books

  1. Oh Shea…..As much as I am drawn by this book…it’s not on Audible (my preferred method of absorbing books). I make an exception when it comes to your offerings, ’cause Morgan Bailey et al are soooo compelling!!…I know the whole audio thing is an expensive investment, and I’m afraid, a necessary evil in my life….I sure hope you and others will find a way to get around the impediments and limitations preventing your fabulous books on audio!..

    On Wed, Aug 27, 2014 at 12:12 PM, “Shéa MacLeod, Author – Everything’s

    1. Honestly, Deby, I have no idea! I still haven’t quite figured that one out. They seem to be human(ish), but with extra things we don’t have like fangs and spinarets. I don’t know if this gets explained in further books, but it’s driving me crazy! lol

Leave a Reply

