Let’s Hear It For the Small Town Romance!

Ladies (and gents), please join me in welcoming the talented Kim Law to ye olde blog today! Kim is another Montlaker. She’s also a two-time Golden Heart® finalist, a former baton twirler, and a wearer of purple cowboy hats. Today she’ll be giving away an ARC of her upcoming release SUGAR SPRINGS. Welcome Kim!

LuvBoat-770572

Ah, the romance of romance. 🙂 I can’t remember a time I didn’t love it. Even as a kid, I was all about Barbie and Ken going out on dates. But then…maybe that was the norm 😉 But I also loved the romance in some my favorite shows: Happy Days—who didn’t love Joanie and Chachi?, The Love Boat, Mork & Mindy—I was so glad when they figured out they liked each other!

But I didn’t just love the romance itself, I also loved the drama that built to the romance. Knots Landing was my all-time favorite show as a kid/teenager. I. LOVED. THAT. SHOW! I used to dream of writing for it! I loved all the crap that was always thrown in the way that everyone had to overcome just to get to their HEA…well, their HFN. It was Knot’s Landing, after all. Not sure there was ever a HEA. But I adored the drama and angst that was a given with the show.

And my fascination with romance would not have been complete without small towns. There is seriously nothing more romantic to me than small-town, close-family, everybody up in everybody’s business romance. Pure heaven.

Oh, and I can’t leave out the best part of what shaped my all-time love. My mother’s Harlequins. I’ve loved to read since I was a small child, but the moment I discovered those books, I was done trying anything else. You can get me to read something else (occasionally),

but 98% of my reading time, both then and now, is romances. I simply like the guaranteed happy ending. There is nothing like escaping for a few hours to get swept away in a beautiful love story, and know without a doubt that it’s going to end the right way and they will be happy forever. *sigh* 🙂

S – Those Harlequins have a lot to answer for! My grandmother always had so

me around. The TAME ones. At 18, however, I discovered the ever so slightly racy ones. Hours at the library, people. HOURS! But I digress…

Favorite small-town romance movie: Hope Floats – It has small-town, drama, angst, and a reunion romance. Read my books. You’ll learn that this is my perfect combination. I suppose you could add in a little redemption to top it off, but it’s okay not to always have redemption.

Favorite small-town romance novel(s): Nora’s Inn Boonsboro Trilogy – I’m a huge Nora fan from way back, but when she does the small-town trilogies, especially when it’s based on three brothers…*swoon* My kind of romance! If I could afford it I’d buy everyone I met this trilogy just to make sure they’ve read it!

Timothy O

Favorite angst-riddled, drama-filled romance movie: Catch and Release – Granted, I could be slanted toward this one because it has Timothy Olyphant in it, but I love that the heroine finds out about her fiancé’s secret life, only after he’s killed. I love the anger and the confusion and the simple fact that she doesn’t know how to deal with life anymore. And then the other woman and the child show up! FABULOUS!!! Oh, and when Timothy O slams/kisses her up against the wall in that building? Mmmm…

S – I have to admit I share your soft spot for Timothy O. 😉

Thanks for having me here today Shea! 😀

S – Thanks for stopping by and sharing your favorite small town romances!

Kim’s new novel SUGAR SPRINGS is available for pre-order now! (Release date 2

5th of December – WOW! We share a release date!)

Because she is super cool, Kim is giving away one ARC of her upcoming release SUGAR SPRINGS! Simply leave a comment letting us know what your favorite small town romance is (book, tv, movie, or real life) for your chance to win!

Sugar Springs by Kim Law
Sugar Springs by Kim Law

Lee Ann London once had big plans…scholarship, college, love. Then she found herself raising her deceased sister’s twin girls when their father disappeared. Now, with her beautiful girls, a community that depends on her, and her photography studio finally taking off, Lee Ann may not have the life she’d imagined, but it’s definitely where she wants it. Until Cody, her bad-boy ex, returns to Sugar Springs…

Cody’s childhood put a chip on his shoulder the size of Texas. Bouncing around the foster care system, he was always the one to leave before anyone left him first. Then he found a place he wanted to stick. Lee Ann was the best thing that ever happened to him. Only, he hurt her. Bad. He’s back now, and determined to earn her forgiveness…and maybe win back her love while he’s at it.

And just so ya’ll know, my current favorite small-town tale is Hart of Dixie. I love the people. I love the “fish out of water” scenario. I love the hot guys. 😉 But most of all I love that this woman who had her life fall apart in front of her eyes has decided to make it work for her and in the process she’s finding herself and, maybe, love.


17 thoughts on “Let’s Hear It For the Small Town Romance!

  1. Having grown up largely in a small town, (Charles City, IA – pop <10,000), I guess I'd have to say all my favorite small town romances were all "real life."
    Though now that I think about it…they may have been more like comedies…and not romantic comedies…more like the Three Stooges where somebody gets hit with a bucket of nails while a dog is biting them…

  2. Most of my favorite author’s books could be considered small town romance (though she’s a bit more chick lit/humor than straight romance), and that would be Jenny Crusie. I’m going to go with Welcome to Temptation as the best of her small town romance-type books 🙂

  3. a baton (twirler) and a purple cowboy hat– interesting. trying to name my favorite small town romance–not that i read a lot of romances–and came up with BRIDGES OF MADISON COUNTY. technically it’s not a romance and definitely not a HEA. but i thought it was a pretty good story.

    1. You just don’t know what you’re missing, Emma 😉

      I have a friend who recently visited my hometown and you would have thought someone had dropped her off in the middle of a cow pasture and left her there for a week. She was only in town for 4 hours!!! Poor city girl… 😉

      Thanks for stopping by, Emma!!

  4. I love small town romances! I am from a small town myself (less than 4000 people) and I can totally relate. I can’t think of a favorite small town story/movie but Sweet Home Alabama was pretty good!

  5. I’ve lived in small town, big town and everything in between. I have to say living in the middle of a cow pasture beats them all! But when i want a real town, Nashville fits the bill! Music, lights, and lots of shopping! As for my favorite small town romances…there’s too many to choose from! I love them all! So I’ll say it’s the one I’m reading now, Jill Shalvis’ Lucky Harbor series. Yummy men and great HEAs! Love it!

Leave a Reply

