Next Chapter, Please!

Maybe it’s a little cliche to say I’m “starting the next chapter” of my life, but that’s exactly what I’m doing. Moving from London back to my hometown of Portland, Oregon has been a pretty big adjustment for me. It’s also been a welcome change of pace.

The downside is my allergies have gone nuts. Apparently 6 years away is enough to lose your immunity. Or maybe it was that nasty cold the wreaked havoc on my immune system. In any case it’s like Hay Fever Gone Wild over here. I think this hat would be a perfect solution, don’t you?

The upside is that I’m feeling ridiculously inspired. Not only am I back in MY old stomping grounds, but I’m back in Morgan Bailey’s stomping grounds, too. I’ve been finding some amazing new places for Morgan to visit in future episodes. Not to mention some interesting locales for further down the line in Dragon Wars. Imagining P-town as a post-apocalyptic wasteland is hella fun.

So if I’ve been quiet lately, please forgive me. Between rewrites for Kissed by Smoke, buying out the entire Kleenex aisle at Safeway, and catching up with relatives and friends I haven’t seen in half a decade, I don’t know if I’m coming or going. Quite possibly both.

I wish I could promise to be better, but I’m not sure I can. I’ve got a writing deadline, a camping trip, a visit to North Idaho, and an afternoon tea in my future. Not to mention vampires to dust, dragons to slay, an alien invasion to prevent, and a murder to solve.

A writer’s work is never done … but oh, do I love it!

Speaking of, it’s back to work for me. But I shall leave you with this quote from one of my all-time favorite writers: the inestimable Joss Whedon.

2 thoughts on “Next Chapter, Please!

Leave a Reply

