Mythos Monday: Grimm

It’s been awhile since I did a Mythos Monday post. Mostly because I’ve been not just up to my eyeballs, but over my head with edits. Fortunately, though, edits for Kissed by Darkness are done and turned in, ready for Montlake Romance to republish. I didn’t think this book could get any better, but I really think it has.

Grimm

Kissed by Fire edits will be starting shortly, but in the meantime I’m having a little breather. Between showing a friend around London and a short visit to Paris this week, I’m writing a short story for the Eclective’s next collection (out in June). Not only that, but I actually have a little time to blog. So, I’m talking Grimm.

If you haven’t been watching Grimm, you really should. Especially if you love dark fantasy.Grimm journals

Grimm is like a fairy tale on steroids. We’re not talking fluffy Disney fairy tales, either. We’re talking the dark, twisted tales of the original Grimm brothers and Hans Christian Andersen. It’s more like if you took one of those fluffy Disney tales, mixed it with Edgar Allan Poe, then threw in a liberal dash of CSI. To my mind, it’s everything dark fantasy should be.

Forest Park - Portland, Oregon

The mythos of the world Grimm is so deep and intricate, watching it is a little like falling down a rabbit hole. You believe that you could walk down the streets of Portland and actually see a blutbad or a hexenbiest.

And speaking of Portland, that’s another reason why I love this show. Portland, Oregon is my home town and the city is almost a character in and of itself, much like what I tried to accomplish in Kissed by Darkness. When Monroe bitches about how this town is getting weirder, I just laugh. Portland is well known for being just a little “out there.” It’s unofficial motto: Keep Portland Weird.  Doesn’t take much. Trust me.

As if all that weren’t enough, there are three other VERY good reasons to watch Grimm: David Giuntoli, Russell Hornsby, and Sasha Roiz.

Can I get a yummy?


9 thoughts on “Mythos Monday: Grimm

  1. I wonder how many cities in the U.S. have a “Keep weird” motto. I know Austin, Texas takes their motto pretty seriously. What are some of the weird things about Portland? Also, glad to hear about the progress on edits and that you’ve had enough time to dig into Grimm.

Leave a Reply

