Writer Wednesday: Zombies and Humor

Let’s face it.  In a zombie apocalypse you’re going to need your sense of humor.  It’s one of the few things that will keep you from going stark raving mad.  That and a lifetime supply of chocolate.  But I digress.

I have with me today a woman who knows very well the power of humor.  Please welcome the ever fabulous PJ Jones!

SM: Hey! It’s PJ Jones, Queen of Parody. Thanks so much for joining me today. You know how I love me some zombies! Even more, I love to Squee myself silly.  Let me start by asking you a few random questions so we can get to know you a little better.
1): What’s your all-time favorite thing to eat?

Chocolate Nachos

PJ: Nachos and chocolate. I still haven’t figured out how to combine the two.

SM: Oh, really?  I got a recipe for you.  Let’s talk …

2): Tell me what you love about living in Texas. Is there anywhere else you’d want to live and why?

PJ: I love the Texas sunshine. Even though I sometimes sparkle, I’m not a cold-blooded gal. If I could live anywhere else, it would be somewhere tropical like Costa Rica.

SM: Sparkling, yeah.  I don’t have that problem.  I just glow in the dark.

3): What’s the funniest zombie movie you’ve ever seen?

PJ: Zombieland. Gotta love Bill Murray.

SM: I love that movie!  I’ll never look at Twinkies or bowling balls the same way again.

4): What’s one totally crazy, off-the-wall thing you’ve done in your life? And would you do it again?

PJ: I went ziplining through a rainforest and HELL YES I’d do it again.

SM:  I am so jealous.  I’d love to do that.

5): What’s the first thing you’d do in a zombie apocalypse?

PJ: Stock up on chocolate

SM: WORD!

Now let’s move on to your writing.
6): Did anyone or anything special inspire you to become an author?

PJ: I’d always wanted to write books and even penned a few really awful novels while I was in college. Later, when I taught high school English, my students encouraged me to seriously pursue writing again.

7): Can you tell me a little more about your latest book, Attack of the Fairytale Zombies?

PJ: As the official Royal Dragon Slayer of Fairytale Kingdom, Barth descends from a long line of monster-killing knights. There’s only one problem: Drag, the kingdom’s resident cross-dressing dragon, is also Barth’s best friend.
When the King orders Barth to kill Drag, Barth knows they have to flee the kingdom or else another knight will do the job. But after a beautiful witch begs Barth to stay and help rid the kingdom of a dreadful zombie curse, Barth discovers he may have found his true calling. Is he knight enough to stop the zombie outbreak, save his best friend and get the girl?

8): Why zombies? And why mix zombies with humor?

PJ: Because life is shitty enough already without having to worry about end-of-the-world flesh-eating ghouls. Why not infuse a little comedy with your apocalyptic horror?

SM: Now for the REALLY important stuff:
Money or Fame?

PJ: Money and then I’ll buy fame.

True Blood or The Walking Dead?
PJ: The Walking Dead

Captain Jack or Captain Jack Sparrow?
PJ: I don’t even know what the hell Jack Sparrow is saying half the time.

And how do you feel about dragons?
PJ: Ohhhh, I loves me some dragons, especially the cross-dressing kind.

One final question, do you have any survival tips for the coming zombocalypse?
PJ: If you do get turned into a zombie, don’t eat me. I don’t have enough grey matter to make a satisfying meal.

SM: PJ, thanks so much for hanging out with me today. It’s been a real treat. You shake it like a Polaroid picture!

PJ: Click clack, click clack

If you want to keep up with PJ online, she can be found here:

Her Website
Facebook
Twitter
GoodReads

7 thoughts on “Writer Wednesday: Zombies and Humor

Leave a Reply

