Writer Wednesday: The Magical Misperception of Meridian

Today I’d like to welcome to my blog a very special guest, author S.G. Rogers.  S.G. has a new book out this month called The Magical Misperception of Meridian.  Now that’s the kind of title that has my interest all kinds of piqued!  So, I sat down with S.G. (virtually speaking) and asked her a few nosy questions.

Can you tell us more about the new book?  Where you got the idea for it?

The inspiration for The Magical Misperception of Meridian stems from an episode in my childhood when I was having a pretend violin concert.  We’d just moved in to our apartment and I hadn’t met anyone yet. To my delight, my next-door neighbor, a boy named Tracy, jumped into the game and played along.  In my story, Jona first meets Lee when he’s playing a pretend game of fighting off highwaymen. Although Lee has no idea Jona is a girl (she dresses like a boy and wears her braids stuffed under a cap) they vanquish their foes together. This encounter sets the stage for their future relationship. The Dickens novel, Great Expectations, was also a big influence. Like Pip, Jona is lifted from her ordinary life and thrust into a society she could not have dreamed existed.

Your novels tend to be about magic and the paranormal. Have you always been drawn to the supernatural?

My imagination has always run wild.  Although I have written things outside the speculative fiction genres, I always think magic and fantasy makes things more fun!

I couldn’t agree more!  If you had to choose just one superpower, what would it be? 

Teleportation would definitely be at the top of my list.  I’d love to pop over to Paris for lunch and be back in time for an afternoon’s writing session.

Haha!  That’s exactly what I would have said.  I love new places, but hate the time and travel getting there.  They really need to get cracking on personal teleportation devices. 😉

And the most important question of all, what are your thoughts on dragons? 😉

Dragons show up frequently in my stories…almost always as the good guys!  Perhaps it was the influence of McCaffrey’s Dragonriders of Pern, but I’ve never envisioned dragons as anything other than loyal, friendly creatures.  I picture them as a cross between a horse and a cat or dog…magnificent to look at, but playful too.  Jon Hansen, of my Ydenseries, is a member of the Dragon Clan of Yden.  Dragon Clan wizards are known for being noble.

Love it!  A girl after my own heart.  I’m a bit of a Pern fan myself. 🙂

Thanks to S.G. Rogers for stopping by today.  

Blurb: 

Railing against convention in the kingdom of Meridian, Jona thinks a girl should be able to wear trousers, fight like a boy when necessary, and marry whomever she pleases.  She happens upon the queen’s nephew, Lee, who stammers and cannot speak to girls at all…that is, until he meets Jona.

When the queen hires Jona to help her nephew acquire proper social graces, Jona experiences a blissful summer of pure enchantment.  Jona and Lee learn to dance, perfect the art of polite conversation, and discover which fork to use at the dinner table.  Although they become best friends, Queen Gaia considers Jona a mere servant.  At summer’s end, Jona’s job in Meridian is done.

Lee and Jona keep in contact through a set of magical mailboxes given to Lee by the Wizard Farland. When the friends are finally reunited after ten years, their budding romance is torn asunder by an edict from the queen.   Against impossible odds, Jona and Lee will fight for an uncertain future.  But unspoken secrets and mysteries long in the making have yet to be revealed.

Will true love be denied…or can the differences between commoners and royalty be shown to be just a matter of magical misperception?

Pick up your copy of The Magical Misperception of Meridian here.

And you can find out more about S.G. Rogers and her books here:

Blog: www.childofyden.com

FB: http://www.facebook.com/SuzanneGRogers

Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/suzannegrogers

 

14 thoughts on “Writer Wednesday: The Magical Misperception of Meridian

    1. Hi Tara! If you love dragon and fantasy stories then we have a lot to talk about! I don’t have any dragons in Magical Misperception, but in my last release (Minna & The Valentine), Minna’s father is a famous dragon jockey. How cool is that!

  1. Dragons rule. But I like the evil ones as well as the good ones. They just represent the ultimate foe in my view… something to make the bravest knight wet his armor. But the good ones are great too. I really enjoyed Pern when I was younger.

    1. I wrote a flash fiction piece in which the dragon was sort of evil…but in his defense, the good guys killed his troll Boss. I certainly agree that dragons have the ultimate power thing happening. In my Yden series, though, I have all sorts of nasties the dragons must battle. The cygards, for example, are a race of giant cyclops bullies who wield big axes, bull whips and horrible attitudes. And you never want to mess with a Gnoamian Imp. They resemble cute gargoyles at first, but they’ve got razor sharp teeth. When they swarm, it’s like a piranha attack. *shudders*

  2. Awesome interview, SG!! We are indeed kindred spirits… you in Paris, me in Vienna enjoying a second piece of Sachertorte with fresh whipped cream… mmmm. ;-D And I *LOVED* The Last Great Wizard of Yden. Great book.

    1. Another teleporter, eh? All the best minds think alike. I’m very glad you enjoyed Yden. I’m finishing up your “Double Crossing” soon! What a great historical suspense novel that is!

Leave a Reply

