Mythos Monday: Grimm

Last night I finally saw the first episode of Grimm.  I have no idea how long it’s been out in the States.  Heck, with my luck it’s probably had three seasons and been cancelled already (Okay, I exaggerate.  It premiered back in October). But goodness, I hope not.  ‘Cause frankly, it tickled my yummy spot.

First off, Grimm stars the rather tasty David Giuntoli as Nick, a descendant of the Brothers Grimm.  You know, the authors of such fabulous fables as Little Red Riding Hood and The Frog Prince.  

Except the Brothers Grimm weren’t really creating fairy tales.  Oh, no, they were recording history and issuing warnings for the future.  Because the monsters in the fairy tales?  They’re real.  And only the Grimms can see them.

Ya’ll know how I love things that go bump in the night.  Grimm is definitely full of those.  On the outside they look just like us, but on the inside?  Well, they eat little girls for dinner.  Among other things.

Naturally this means that poor Nick, as one of the last of the Grimms (and therefor one of the few people on the planet who can see these creatures as they really are), has a big old target painted on his back.  One minute he’s an ordinary cop, and the next he’s a creature slayer getting beat up left and right by the big bad.  Now that’s a bad day.

Best of all, the show takes place (and is filmed) in a place Morgan Bailey and I know very well, indeed.  Our hometown of Portland, Oregon.  And, boy, does it make me homesick.

So if your fancy, like mine, is tickled by the supernatural, the fantastical, the dark and mysterious (not to mention the eye candy), check out Grimm.  You’ll thank me later.

14 thoughts on “Mythos Monday: Grimm

    1. That’s true. Some shows just take some time. And not everything is for everybody. I think a good deal of my enjoyment is as much from the setting as from the story itself. Oh, and the eye candy! 🙂

  1. I’ve really enjoyed Grimm and I didn’t think I was going to at first because it sounded like a rip off of Shiloh Walkers series. I’ve only been to Portland three times but I love it. The show does make a point of stating locations and other things about Portland.

  2. Grimm is awesome. My friends husband is an extra in several of the episodes. It ws picked up for a full season which Pete says is promising for a season two.

Leave a Reply

