Mythos Monday: Captain Jack Says “Hi”

Okay, so this post has nothing whatsoever to do with myths or legends or paranormal whatsis.  Unless, of course, you count the fact that it’s about my visit to the land of Torchwood and Captain Jack Harkness.

That counts, right?

As you know, Friday I took a day trip to Cardiff.  No, not the one in California.  The one in Wales.  Where they film most of Torchwood and even some of Doctor Who.  And who better to go with than my soul sister, Sheena.

To keep up our strength (and because it’s my almost-birthday), we stopped at the local Temple of the Bean for a tipple of the caffeinated variety.  While we were at it, we also indulged in a little sugar overkill.  It’s almost my birthday, so calories don’t count.  Right?  Right.

Also, it was freezing-ass-cold which meant I just had to go shopping.  And this super cute hat just totally jumped off the rack and grabbed me.  I had no choice.  Honest.

I am now a firm believer in the cute hat, not only for keeping one warm, but for the sheer power of the smexy.  I had no idea a cute hat could make a girl feel so ooh-la-la.

Now I did my best.  My very best for you all.  But Captain Jack was nowhere to be found.  And believe me, I looked.  Probably too cold for him.

The wuss.

But neither cold nor, um, cold was going to stop us from visiting the Torchwood site, so off we toddled to Cardiff Bay.  That’s where those huge pillar things are.  You know, they stand in front of a certain pillar and suddenly the pavement drops and they’re headed underground to the Bat Cave?  Yeah, that.

On the way poor Sheena got attacked by a Dalek.  Man, you gotta watch out for those things.  Feisty they are.

Fortunately I was there to point and laugh and take pictures save her from the vile villainous creature.

We never did make it to the Norsk coffee shop.  Though it did look really pretty over the water.

Obviously, I have a long way to go before I become the next Ansel Adams, but you get the picture.  Heh.

We never found our way into Torchwood either, despite standing in front of every one of those stupid pillar things.  Probably they’d locked up for the night.  Rude, if you ask me.  All we wanted was a hot cuppa and a biscuit.  Is that too much to ask?

All in all it was a very wonderful, glittertastic day.

Though when I got home I found this on my door:

Seriously?  Once.  Just once I’d like to have a nice day out without the doggone Daleks spoiling everything …

7 thoughts on “Mythos Monday: Captain Jack Says “Hi”

  1. Ha ha! Again, awesome points for Torchwood references. Your post the other day reminded me that I’d been meaning to continue with series two, and I watched four more episodes of it over the weekend. Admittedly, I was ill, and living on the sofa, but whatever.
    I’m so trying to persuade my parents to take me to Cardiff, because I just wanted to go to the Torchwood tower. Also to go to the pizza place and see if there IS anyone genius enough to order pizza under the name of Torchwood, because if there isn’t, I will. Just to see the look on their face.

Leave a Reply

