Writer Wednesday: Forever’s Not Enough

Some people love them.  Some people hate them.  Some people could go either way.  I am firmly in the “love” camp.

I’m talking book series.

When I find a story that’s well written, enjoyable, and with brilliant world building and real characters, I want to read more.  One book simply isn’t enough.  There’s nothing worse than reading a book oozing with series potential only to find out it’s a stand alone.  ARRRRGH!

I guess this is also why I prefer to write series.  Once I create a world, I want to stay there awhile.  Have a sit down and visit with the characters.

So, I’d like to share with you some of my all-time favorite series.  And, of course, since it’s me we’re talking about, they’ve all got something sci-fi or paranormal going on with them.

The Tripods by John Christopher pretty much started me off in the post-apocalyptic direction.  This brilliant trilogy (it’s a quadrilogy now) takes place in the near future and follows a young teenager as he joins an underground resistance movement against an alien race which has enslaved mankind.

Aliens?  Yes, please!

The Guild Hunter Series by Nalini Singh is the kind of series that gets my juices flowing.  It’s sexy, it’s action packed, and I never ever want it to end.  Angels, vampires, murder, and mayhem.  What’s not to like?  Singh has another series out which is also fabulous, but this one is my favorite.

The Parasol Protectorate by Gail Carriger is all that is good and wonderful about steampunk.  They are novels of vampires, werewolves, and parasols.  And, of course, manners, tea, and steam engines.  Honestly, they make me giddy just reading them!

I honestly couldn’t tell you which is my favorite series by Norah WilsonDix Dodd (written as NL Wilson) or her Vampire Romance series.  Dix Dodd is like an older, wiser, crazier Stephanie Plum with all the freshness of the early Plum books.  The vampire books are smoldering, sexy, and did I mention sexy?

Stephany Simmons rocks my world with her Lian and Figg series.  I loved, loved, LOVED her first novella, Voodoo Dues, and I just downloaded the next book in the series, Vampire Blues.  Seriously, these books are such a unique voice in the urban fantasy/paranormal romance genre.  I love how Simmons tells the entire story in first person, but from the perspectives of both Lian and Figg.  Doesn’t sound like it will work, but it totally does.  Plus the too make a ridiculously cute couple, if you ask me.

And last, but by no means least, Jack Wallen’s Fringe Killer series totally rocks my socks.  I love his other series, but this one creeps me out, freaks me out, and makes me want to lock my doors (as if I don’t already) and keep a shotgun under my bed.

These are the kinds of series I could just keep reading FOREVER.  The kind I could seriously stalk the authors down if they ever stopped writing (That’s a joke.  Not planning to stalk anyone.  Yet).

What are your favorite book series and why?  What series could you read over and over?

7 thoughts on “Writer Wednesday: Forever’s Not Enough

  1. I’ll have the John Christopher books by the end of the day, sounds absolutely fantastic. So does The Parasol Protectorate, love steampunk, love the sphinx on the cover, yep, love it!

    Thanks for the great over views Shea 🙂

  2. I’m one of those people that like a series or a stand alone, and truthfully can’t name a fav series. I have a couple of series on my lists that I want to read. I’d love to read the Outlander series because I’ve heard so many wonderful things about it. And I have the first several books by Janet Evanovich (yeah, I know, I’m behind the times). I’ve heard for years how great these books are, but didn’t really get the bug until one of my current cps raved about them.

    Nice post!

    1. The Janet Evanovich books are great! I didn’t start reading them until about 10 years after the first one came out, so don’t feel bad. 🙂

      I’ve heard about the Outlander series, as well, but haven’t read it yet. It’s on my never ending “to read” list.

Leave a Reply

