Mythos Monday: We Are Star Stuff

I’ve blogged before about my love of the show Ancient Aliens.  Heck, if I’m honest, I’m just obsessed with the possibility of life on other planets full stop.  I even devoted this weekend to some good old alien romps.

First there was a viewing of Monsters followed by Battle: Los Angeles (Is it just me, or is Aaron Eckhart ridiculously smexy in that Marine uniform?).  But being a total geek, I couldn’t just leave it at the scifi.  Nope.  I went on to watch such scintillating documentaries as The Search for Life: The Drake Equation and reruns of the aforementioned Ancient Aliens.

And that was just for starters.

But it was in The Search for Life that something really struck me.  It was a quote from Dr. Jill Tarter of the SETI Institute.  She said this (about human beings): “We are star stuff, studying the stars.”

She then went on to say how that when she realized that, it changed her perspective of her fellow humans.  Of the world.  We are all connected.  To each other.  And to everything around us.  And not only that, we’re connected to everything Out There.

According to Giorgio Tsoukalos, producer of Ancient Aliens, we actually ARE aliens.  Or hybrids anyway.  The secrets of our extraterrestrial ancestors locked deep within our DNA.  Is it true?  Are we really part of Earth and part of … Somewhere Else?

What is Out There?

Are we alone?  Are we the one biological miracle in the universe?  Or are there others?  What are they like?  And if they’re there, if we’re not alone, what does that mean for the human race?  And if we’re really part of them, what does that change?

Like Dr. Frank Drake, creator of the Drake Equation, said, (and I paraphrase) “the search for intelligent life in the universe is really the search for ourselves.”

He’s not wrong there.

Maybe that’s why I’m so obsessed with scifi.

Or maybe I just have a thing for super smart guys with pointy ears and bad haircuts.

7 thoughts on “Mythos Monday: We Are Star Stuff

  1. Love, love, love aliens, not so sure about humans though *smile*

    I heard the same theory years ago and it actually makes sense about humans being the aliens. No one knows where that first spark came from that turned a bunch of goo into a living organism that over the course of millions of years would evolve into a human. Personally, this makes me appreciate being human even more.

    Awesome stuff, Shea. This gets a big SQUEE! of approval from a fellow geek 🙂

  2. I love Star Wars and Star Trek – these are my favourite alien movies so far 🙂 And it’s nice to dream about the possibility of the existence of other living creatures out there in another galaxy…

  3. “I imagine they might exist in massive ships, having used up all the resources from their home planet. Such advanced aliens would perhaps become nomads, looking to conquer and colonise whatever planets they can reach.” – Stephen Hawking

Leave a Reply

