Writer Wednesday: Back To Our Regularly Scheduled Programming

I hope everyone had a wonderful holiday period and that 2012 got off to a good start.  I’ve a feeling it’s going to be a GREAT year!

The other night I was watching a very inspiring bio-pic about JK Rowling and that got me thinking about other writers who have inspired me and my writing.  In some cases it’s been more about their personal stories while in others about their writing abilities.  So here, in no particular order, are the writers who have inspired (and continue to inspire) yours truly.

Agatha Christie

The granddame of the cozy murder mystery, Ms. Christie has been my inspiration since childhood.  I read my first Agatha Christie book at the age of eleven.  No doubt this warped me for life.  I totally wanted to be just like her when I grew up.  

I’ve always admired her zest for life and her love of adventure, her determination to succeed.  But also her simple, clear writing style and her sheer genius at story telling.  She was never about fancy language or flowery prose.

Stephen King

Talk about an example of “if at first you don’t succeed, try, try again.”  King struggled through rejection after rejection before finally achieving success with his seventh novel, Carrie.  He overcame poverty, tragedy, and addiction.  His book On Writing, part auto-biography and part how-to, is a must-read for any author.

JK Rowling

The story that she wrote in cafes and coffee shops because her flat had no heat is patently untrue.  According to JK Rowling herself, it was because it gave her a chance to get her baby out of the house for some fresh air, and once the child had fallen asleep, that was the best place to write.

But the truth is that in five years, she went from a single mother “on the dole”, struggling to survive on government assistance, to the richest woman in Britain.  All because she never gave up on her dream of being a writer despite naysayers and multiple rejections.

JD Robb/Nora Roberts

I’ve only ever read one Nora Roberts book, but I gobble JD Robb books like crazy.  Never mind, they’re by the same person.  I just love futuristic murder mysteries.

What inspires me about her is how incredibly prolific she is.  In less than 20 years, she had written (and published) over 100 novels.  I believe it’s over the 200 mark now.  Does she retire into obscurity figuring it’s a job well done?  Nope, she keeps on writing because that’s what she loves to do and she has fans who want to read more.

Nalini Singh

Unless you’re a big-time fan of paranormal romance, you’ve probably never heard of this author.  I know very little about her personal life and she’s a fairly recent addition to my “inspiration” collection.  What inspires me about her is her world-building skills.  She has this incredible ability to create intricate, believable worlds and characters that suck her readers in and never let go.  If you want to learn world building, read one of Ms. Singh’s novels.  Pure genius.

To me, these people are the rock stars of the world.  These are the people I want to emulate.  I’d rather admire them than some drunken reality “star” or drugged out pop-let.

Who are your “rock stars?”

 

6 thoughts on “Writer Wednesday: Back To Our Regularly Scheduled Programming

  1. JK
    Steve
    Neil Gaiman
    Holly Black
    L’Engle

    There are so many who I lovelovelovelove, but those five are probably my biggest role models. I’m so glad we live in a time when we can access not just amazing novelists *as they write and release their work*, but such inspiring writers as Anne Lamott, Maya Angelou, and so many others who fill up our souls and inform our ambitions as certainly as anyone with huge commercial success. And then there are the filmmakers! My goodness, what a magical time to be alive, when dreams leap from pen to page to screen in the mere blink of an eye.

    Morning, Shea.

  2. Excellent choices, Shea. I’m reading “On Writing” at the moment, excellent book, hard to put down. I’ll be sure to check out Nalini Singh, love good world building, which is why I read S. MacLeod 🙂

  3. Hope you had a wonderful holiday! 🙂 May this new year bless you.
    Let me add 4 authors to the list: J.R.R. Tolkien, Dan Brown, Daphne du Maurier and Ken Follet 🙂 The first writer who’d inspired me to write was in fact JKR in her Harry Potter world and I really admire her background story, on how it was hard but in the end she made it to the top!

Leave a Reply

