Writer Wednesday: Secrets and Whispers

Today I have another lovely guest here at Ye Olde Blog.  Tara West isn’t exactly a new face in the publishing world.  Her YAs were traditionally published a few years ago.  But a few months ago Tara decided to get her rights back and update and publish the novels herself.  Now Sophie’s Secret, Don’t Tell Mother, and Krysta’s Curse are all available on Amazon and Barnes & Noble.

Tara, thanks for joining us today.  You write YA paranormal.  Why YA?  Why paranormal?

A lot of crazy, unexplained things happened to me and my two friends when we were kids. I thought some of our experiences would make great YA storys. Of course, my YAs have a lot more paranormal in them than what really happened to us, but we did have some ghost and telepathic experiences. 

Your trilogy, Whispers, is all about ordinary teenage girls with extraordinary abilities.  You know that’s totally my cup of tea!  Can you tell us more about the books?  Where you got the idea for them?

I got the idea from things that occurred to me in my childhood. I remember playing hide-and-go seek with my friend when we were seven. My sister was supposed to be watching us, but she left after my parents went to work. My friend saw a ghost while I was hiding. She described my teenage neighbor who’d recently died, down to the same red and white striped shirt he always wore and his strawberry blond hair. This was a new friend, who lived a few miles away. She had no way of knowing about my dead neighbor. Even now as adults, I’ve asked her and she still swears that she saw a ghost in my house. Another friend of mine somehow had to ability to read my mind. I can also read hers. Even now that she lives five hours away, whenever she calls me on the phone, I somehow know what she’s going to say. She called me once and right after she said, “Hello”, I said, “You’re having twins, aren’t you?” Yep. She was calling to tell me she was having twins.

My Whispers series is also about three BFFs who all have psychic abilities. They struggle to keep their gifts secret while fitting in with other kids at school. Sophie can read minds, AJ can see the future, and Krysta speaks to the dead. 

And speaking of extraordinary abilities, if you had to choose just one superpower, what would it be?

I’d love to fly. Flying is cool. You can drop projectiles on people you don’t like.

Do you have any memorable stories about writing?  Or the paranormal?  Either one.

I got the idea for my Whispers series from things that occurred to me in my childhood. I remember playing hide-and-go seek with my friend when we were seven. My sister was supposed to be watching us, but she left after my parents went to work. My friend saw a ghost while I was hiding. She described my teenage neighbor who’d recently died, down to the same red and white striped shirt he always wore and his strawberry blond hair. This was a new friend, who lived a few miles away. She had no way of knowing about my dead neighbor. Even now as adults, I’ve asked her and she still swears that she saw a ghost in my house. Another friend of mine somehow had to ability to read my mind. I could also read hers. Even now that she lives five hours away, whenever she calls me on the phone, I somehow know what she’s going to say. She called me once and right after she said, “Hello”, I said, “You’re having twins, aren’t you?” Yep. She was calling to tell me she was having twins.

And now for the important bits:

Chocolate or Cheese? It’s a no brainer. Chocolate.

Cowboys or Aliens? Sexy cowboys vs. little green men? Sexy cowboys win. Sexy aliens vs. cowboys? That’s a toss-up.

Favorite pizza topping? Cheese.

Funniest movie you’ve ever seen?  Really, I can’t narrow it down to just one. Some of my favorites are Forgetting Sarah Marshall, Superhero Movie and Brides Maids.

Now back to the books.  Any other projects planned?  What’s next for Tara West?

Heather Marie Adkins, author of the paranormal thriller The Temple, and a practicing witch, has agreed to pair up with me for future releases. As the girls mature, I plan on expanding the paranormal aspect of the series, and Heather is just the right writer to help me do it.

Awesome!  I’m definitely looking forward to that!  Thanks so much for visiting my blog today, Tara.

You can find out more about Tara and her books on her blog: http://tarawestauthor.wordpress.com/

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Writer Wednesday: Secrets and Whispers

Leave a Reply

