Mythos Monday: Angels Among Us

Today I have a very special guest blogger here at Ye Olde Blog.  Ms. L.M. Pruitt is not only my friend and critique partner, she’s also the author author of the kick-ass urban fantasy novel Shades of Gray and the brand new psychic mystery novel Taken.  I’m ridiculously thrilled for her to be here today.  Welcome to the blog, L.M.

First, let me say how awesome it is to be here on Shéa’s page. I always like visiting, even moreso when I get to talk about something that’s currently near and dear to my heart. Where it falls on the mythological scale is totally up to you and your personal beliefs, so if I offend anyone–oops.

How many of you out there can tell me how many classes of angels there are? Anyone? Ok, I’ll tell you–there are nine. The nine are then divided into three orders, with three classes in each order.

The first, and highest, consists of the Cherubim, Seraphim, and Thrones, all of which serve as priests of God in some capicity. The second order consists of Dominions, Virtues, and Powers, who act as heavenly governors. The third and final order is comprised of Principalities, Archangels and Angels, who rule and watch over various created things.

You notice what’s missing, something I never noticed until I started doing some research, just to be on the safe side with this idea? There isn’t anyone who expressly stands between mankind and demons. Shocking, I know. I actually went to about a half dozen different websites, tried a dozen or so different search phrases just to be sure.

So, first thing to keep in mind–there isn’t anyone existing with the sole purpose of fighting back the tide of evil.

Now, we’re going to go old school apocryphal, and talk a little abou the Book of Enoch. To make a moderately long story short, a portion of angels/archangels saw the women of the world and desired them. Wanted to live among them. Major no-no. So when this group of angels/archangels did just that, lived and walked and laid with women, who in turn bore children, God was seriously on the not happy side. He pretty much went, “You want to be with the humans? Done deal.” And locked them out of heaven. The head of the now cast out angels, Samyaza, went to Enoch, who is described both in the Bible and in other works as a just and honorable man, and asked for him to intercede on behalf of the Fallen Angels. The message God sent back?

Judgment has been passed upon you; your request will not be granted you. From this time forward, never shall you ascend into Heaven; (He has said, that) on the earth He will bind you, as long as the world endures. But before these things you shall behold the destruction of your beloved sons; you shall not possess them, but they shall fall before you by the sword. Neither shall you entreat for them, nor for yourselves; But you shall weep and supplicate in silence. (Book of Enoch)

Keep in mind, these angels are different from those who were cast out as part of the great rebellion against God. So, second thing to keep in mind–there are two groups of beings who basically want payback on God. 

Ok, so what does this all this mean? I promise, I’m getting there right now. What if…

God (or Allah or whoever you subscribe to–we’re going for religious open-mindedness here), in an effort to both prevent future episodes such as the one described in the Book of Enoch and to deal with the increase of evil in the world, “creates” a special class or order of individuals. The catch?

These individuals were, at one point in time, human. Just human.

Some of them were probably warriors, some of them weren’t. Some were used to sacrificing themselves for the good of others, most probably weren’t. The one trait they all share, the one thing that defines them as a group?

When the moment came where they could walk away from certain death, they didn’t–for the good of someone else.

And so when they die, instead of going to heaven or wherever you believe people go, they instead wind up in a dusty, dirty, crowded office with a very overworked Secretary. And there, they’re given an choice: go to heaven, go back to those last crucial moments before death and have the universe realigned so they live without negative consequences, or they can join this warrior group–the Winged.

If they choose to join the ranks of the Winged, they’re given eternal life, eternal youth/stopping of the aging process, advanced healing from mortal (but not supernatural) weapons. They’re trained to be warriors, with weapons ranging from longswords to crossbows to your standard 9 mm.

They retain all their human emotions. ALL of them–hatred, jealousy, love, lust, desire. They’re free to pursue relationships with other Winged, or to enter into a relationship with an archangel, who serve as leaders and mentors of the Winged. Since they, the Winged, are no longer strictly human or strictly alive, the archangels aren’t following in the footsteps of the Fallen Angels.


The Winged can never marry. They can never have children. They exist for the sole purpose of fighting demons. And if they should die in supernatural combat–they simply case to exist. They can never go to heaven. They can never quit, never turn back.
Sounds crazy, right? Totally the kind of crazy that I want to write–that I’m actually in the process of writing. It’s not coming out anytime immediately, since I plan to write the entire series first, but it’s something to keep an eye out for.

Thanks again to Shéa for having me–if you’re wondering where exactly she is, that would be here. Feel free to wander over and check things out, and as always–happy reading!

Thanks for stopping by, L.M!  And frakk me, that woulds like an AWESOME series!

You can read more about L.M. and her books over on her blog.

L.M. Pruitt has been reading and writing for as long as she can remember. A native of Florida with a love of New Orleans, she has the uncanny ability to find humor in most things and would probably kill a plastic plant. She is the author of the Jude Magdalyn Series as well as New Moon Rising, featuring Cari Gravier, and Taken, featuring Frankie Post. She is currently at work on the next book in the Moon Rising series, Harvest Moon Rising, due out April 2012. Ms. Pruitt makes her home in Florida with two cats–one smart, the other not so much.


2 thoughts on “Mythos Monday: Angels Among Us

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s