Fantastical Friday: Pumpkin Pie and Men in Skirts

Happy Friday, everyone!  I hope all my fellow Americans had a fantastic Thanksgiving yesterday.  I know I did.

Mostly because of this:

That’s right.  Homemade pumpkin pie with REAL whipped cream.  Nom, nom, NOM!

But it was also a great day because of this:

Sam Worthington in a skirt.  With a sword. Seriously, does it get any better than that?  I think not.

Clash Of The Titans was, while not mythologically accurate, incredibly fun to watch.  Mostly due to the aforementioned Mr. Worthington and lots of tasty men in short skirts.

Fantastical Linky Love:

For more men in skirts (‘Cause let’s face it, you can never have enough men in skirts.), check out this post by Jack Wallen.  There are also purple Docs involved.  Be still my heart.

Fantastical Winner:

You may recall the fabulous superhero post from Wednesday.  Well our winner for the copy of Shero is Danielle.  Congrats Danielle!

Fantastical Video:

Today’s video is something a little different.  I heard this song on Bones the other night and immediately fell in love with it.  Have a listen:

My favorite part of the song:

“There are those who think that I’m strange.

They’d box me up and tell me to change, 

but you hold me close and softly say

that you wouldn’t have me any other way.”

There’s no greater feeling than being loved for exactly who you are.  Warts and all.  Don’t you think?

Friday Bookclub:

This week I started reading the second book in Jack Wallen’s Fringe Killer series: Gothica. It’s wonderfully creepy.

I love this tagline:

Killers die … but sometimes their souls refuse to disappear.

So, lovely people, what are you reading and loving this week?

And did you do anything exciting or unusual for the holiday?

11 thoughts on “Fantastical Friday: Pumpkin Pie and Men in Skirts

  1. I must have a go at making pumpkin pie sometime that looks delish! Beautiful video, I’d love to have that on in the background while I write. HAGW!

    1. Let me know if you want the recipe! The one I use is particularly delish. And you MUST have real whipped cream. 🙂

      It’s my new favorite video. Was so thrilled to stumble across it. Gorgeous song.

  2. You must stop by Get Jack’d later today for my Fabulous Friday: Men in skirts. You’ll get to see pics of lil’ ol’ me in something akin to sexy. 😉

    That’s all I’m sayin’. Well, that and “You Go Girl!”

  3. Missed for dinner yesterday. Your parents and Stephen/Christine were not present but the rest of the Meliza clan made it, including Michelle. As for current reading material, I’m taking on Inheritance. Afterall, everything IS better with dragons.

  4. Catherine – Here’s the recipe: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/moms-pumpkin-pie/detail.aspx

    A couple tweaks I make:
    First only use 1/2 milk (for some reason the recipe is wonky and calls for far too much liquid).
    Second, I double the amount of spice as I like my pumpkin pie quite zesty! But that’s a personal thing. I also add a splash of vanilla. 😉

    Finally, I use a simple oil pastry for the crust, but you can use whatever pie crust is your favorite.

    Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

