Writer Wednesday: Vampires, Secret Bloodlines, and Super Powers

So, here we are once again.  It’s time for another round of Writer Interrogation Techniques. 

I know.  I know.  The whole interrogation schtick, it’s getting old.  So, moving along…

Today I have with me the lovely and talented Talia Jager.  Talia is another one of my Indie Eclective writer friends.  Her specialty?  Young Adult.  And she shakes it like a Polaroid picture!

Talia, thanks for joining us today.  You write YA, both drama and paranormal.  Why YA?

I’ve always read YA, maybe that’s why I write it. The teen mind is awesome. I love that it’s usually raw and passionate. One reason I enjoy writing YA is it’s filled with ‘firsts’. First love, first high school experience, first kiss, first experimentation with… (a number of different things).

Ah, yes.  All those firsts.  Granted there are some firsts I could really have done without. My first home perm comes to mind… but I digress.  Your most recent book, Secret Bloodline, is about vampires and vampire hunters.  You know I’m all over that like white on rice!  Can you tell us more about it?  Where you got the idea?

My husband. He thought I should write a vampire book while they were still “in”. I resisted for a while, but then I figured why not give it a try? Of course, everything having anything to do with vampires has been done. It was hard to come up with something different. I hope I did.

Secret Bloodline is about a girl, named Kairi, who has been bumped around in foster care for as long as she can remember. Nobody likes her and she doesn’t understand why not. After another foster home wants her out, she runs away. This coincides with her 16th birthday. An important one for an Emire, which is the name given to those who are born vampires. After losing control, a coven of vampires takes her under their wings. It’s there she finds out her parents didn’t abandon her, but had been killed trying to protect her. She sets out to find their killer and get justice – and on her journey, meets Aiden, a vampire hunter.

It’s an adventure, drama, and romance wrapped into one.

A vampire meets a vampire hunter?  Ohhhhh… I sense sparkage!  And speaking of vampires, if you had to choose, which would it be?  Angel or Spike or Mick St. John?

I really hope I don’t offend anyone out there when I say I don’t know any of those. Now, Damon Salvatore on the other hand, *drool*

I will forgive you for not knowing the others since you obviously have excellent taste.  Cause Damon Salvatore?  I see your *drool* and raise you a *nom*.  Do you have any memorable stories about writing?  Or vampires?  Either one.

I remember having to hide my writing when I was younger. In school, I’d hide my writing notebook under my class subject notebook. When I was supposed to be taking notes, I’d really be writing—but to the teachers, it looked like I was taking notes. Same thing at home, bedtime was 10pm. I wanted to stay up and write. The only way I could was to hide under the blankets with a notebook, pen, and flashlight.

I so did that in school.  If only my history teacher had known…

Now, If a vampire offered you eternal life (and youth), would you take it?

I think it would depend on my family. If I could still be with them, then YES! If not, then no. Things change when you become a mother. I have to put the kids first. It would be pretty awesome to be the vampire mother – nobody better mess with my kids J But, if I had to leave them just for eternal life and youth, I wouldn’t do it.

Can’t say I blame you.  There are definitely people in my life I would never leave behind.  If you could have one superpower, what would it be and why?

Hmmm. There are so many cool ones! Maybe something to do with never getting sick or hurt. Or maybe flying. Then again, being invisible to spy on the kids would be neat. Mind reading would help to tell who is telling the truth. I think I’d choose flying. I could get anywhere fast! And just the feeling must be awesome.

Totally awesome!  And now for the important bits:

Chocolate or Cheese? Chocolate!

Cowboys or Aliens? Cowboys.

Favorite pizza topping? Just cheese, please.

Funniest movie you’ve ever seen? The Hangover. I also like Adam Sandler movies like Big Daddy and Will Smith movies like Men In Black.

 

As an aside, I nearly fell out of my seat in the cinema the first time I saw The Hangover.  Now back to the books.  Any other projects planned?  What’s next for Talia Jager?

I’m working on the sequel to The Ultimate Sacrifice

 

, titled Roots and Wings. I’m also working with Julia Crane on a YA paranormal titled, Mesmerized. After those, I plan to work on a few stories throughout 2012. I don’t want to push myself and stress about deadlines, so we’ll see what happens.

Sounds like some seriously good stuff!  Thanks for stopping by Talia.

And for ya’ll out there, you can check out Talia’s blog.

Check out Secret Bloodline over at AmazonAppleB&N, and Smashwords for $2.99. (What a bargain!

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Writer Wednesday: Vampires, Secret Bloodlines, and Super Powers

Leave a Reply

