Mythos Monday: Déjà Vu All Over Again

I’ve always been fascinated by the idea of reincarnation.  The idea of one soul being born into many bodies over the centuries.  Passing from one life to another.  All those experiences.

Granted, this is not a new concept.  In fact, it dates back to at least the Iron Age when it was first recorded in both Greek and Hindu texts.  For thousands of years it has been an accepted part of many societies and religions.

Julius Caesar wrote of the Druids of ancient Britain:


“The principal point of their doctrine is that the soul does not die
 and that after death it passes from one body into another….. the main object of all education is, in their opinion, to imbue their scholars with a firm belief in the indestructibility of the human soul, which, according to their belief, merely passes at death from one tenement to another; for by such doctrine alone, they say, which robs death of all its terrors, can the highest form of human courage be developed.”

Like I said, fascinating stuff.

Most religions believe the soul is indestructible.  Indeed, if you believe in the soul, it makes sense.   For what is the soul but pure energy which can neither be created nor destroyed.

But why, if reincarnation is real, can’t we remember our past lives?

Some say it’s because we would be too busy trying to recapture the past.  Find our lost loves.  We would waste new opportunities, obsessed with the old.  We would be paralysed by old fears, blinded by old hates, battered by old failures, forever trying to regain that which we lost.  Forgetting allows us to live each life to the fullest and we only remember when we return to the All.  Each life is a chance to start fresh and experience a new and different way of life.

And that leaves for a lot of interesting possibilities.

Put aside for a moment your own personal belief system and imagine with me that reincarnation is a fact.  It is real.  When a person dies, he or she will be born into a new body, a new life.

Now imagine something goes wrong.  Something leaks through and that person retains some of their past lives.  Not as a true memory, but on a visceral level.

A young woman has an irriational and paralyzing fear of choking to death.  So much so that even eating can at times be difficult.  She has no idea why and the doctors tell her it’s in her mind and she should seek the help of a psychologist.  Nothing helps until the day a psychic tells her that in another life she was hanged as a witch.

A man prefers to dress as a woman.  He doesn’t dare let anyone know as they would mock him.  Or worse.  What he doesn’t realize is there’s nothing wrong with him, with what he’s feeling.  He doesn’t know that in his last life he was a woman and he still remembers and longs for who he was.  She is still a part of him.

Eyes meet across a crowded room.  They both laugh at how cheesy it is.  Love at first sight?  Such a ridiculous and impossible concept.  Funny thing is, this isn’t the first time. Life after life, no matter the skin they wear or the battles they must fight or the sacrifices they have to make, the two seek each other out, never finding happiness save with each other.  Gives a whole new meaning to the term “soul mates”.

Now let’s take a darker path …
Imagine, if you will, a serial killer as dark and as twisted as they come.  The state puts him to death and at last his victims’ families feel safe.

What they don’t know is that he’s about to be reborn into a new body.  With all his memories intact …

So, tell, me.  What are your thoughts on reincarnation?  What interesting stories have you read about it?  And what kind of tales could you imagine telling?

18 thoughts on “Mythos Monday: Déjà Vu All Over Again

  1. If you’re into this stuff, I would love to send you a copy of This Brilliant Darkness. It is a total reincarnation story, where the baddie is aware of all past lives, and he methodically tries to wipe out anyone else who might become enlightened, as well. Let me know!

    It goes without saying–great post.

  2. My take – it’s all true. The soul is too big a “thing” to remain confined to one body. I feel this on so many levels. When people say “Karma’s a bitch…I often look at them think ‘You have no idea…'”.

    Thank you for posting this. YOU know how much this means.

  3. I love the whole idea of reincarnation and strongly believe it to be true. It is one of the reasons why I don’t believe in a hell concept per se except that some part of life on earth must be hell. Life is pain. The dull monotony of everyday only broken up by falling in love, holidays with your family, births and deaths.

    If there is a heaven, it is a sort of nirvana you finally achieve after battling through all the stuff that clutters your soul in life.

    Interesting concept; you would think reincarnation would be as huge of a genre as vampires and zombies. 😉

  4. I’ve always believed in reincarnation. I find it very interesting. A thought that can occupy anyone’s mind for days! I don’t remember the stories I’ve read on it but I know that I always tend to search for who I was in past lives. My blog even tells it all: I’m an Evil Nymph: my name is Daphnee derived from the Greek nymph Daphne and I was Morgan LeFay in my earlier life. The whole source of my imaginary stories I write at night, of the creation of my blog and of my characters have swirled around reincarnation 🙂
    Great post Shéa! ^^

  5. When I was little I believed in reincarnation. These days.. I am not so sure.
    However, I do believe in Déjà Vu. I always thought that I live the same life over and over.. always making different choices. When I make a similar choice to one in a past life, in comes Déjà Vu. Hokey I know… 🙂

    Great post!

  6. I’ve always believed in reincarnation. I think it’s interesting that Sylvia Browne wrote that we write our life plan for our next incarnation. We’re supposed to plan our life so that we learn something and our spirit continues to grow. I’m not sure I buy that because who would plan to be evil or to die at birth? Doesn’t make sense. I do think the idea that you carry part of your past life to your new life. An example would be that in a past life you died of choking and in this life so can’t stand anything around your neck. It’s fun to think about.

  7. LOVE the new photo 🙂
    I am a firm believer in reincarnation- I even have some posts for my blog coming up on reincarnation. I’ve done past life regressions and had amazing experiences, I also got certified in Past Life regression hypnotherapy- which I’ve never used but is a cool conversation started. 🙂

Leave a Reply

