Supernatural Saturday: Quantum Physics, Toilet Seats, and Deanna Troi

It’s time once again for Supernatural Saturday.  Today I thought I’d talk about “the awe and mystery which reaches from the inner mind to… ” really cool psychic powers.

One of my top fave shows has got to be Haven.   The second series is about to start here in the UK (Yes, I know. We are woefully behind) and I can’t WAIT!  I mean, for one thing, could there possibly be two yummier leading men?  (I know.  I know.  I’m all kinds of shallow.  Sue me.)  For another thing, it’s just SO cool.

Very loosely based on Stephen King’s story The Colorado Kid, Haven explores the mysteries of the mind and what happens when a mind with kinetic abilities goes a little bit bonkers.

What causes the people of Haven to have these psychic abilities?  Like the ability to cause rapid aging or turn others insane.  It’s mysterious and intriguing and horrifying all at once.  I don’t know how much of this will be answered in season 2, but I can’t wait to find out! 

Of course there are a plethora of TV shows and books that explore psychic phenomenon.  From Star Trek the Next Generation’s Deanna Troi to reality program, Psychic Detectives, we’re fascinated by the mysteries of our own brains.  Can someone like Allison Dubois truly have the abilities she claims?  Are we capable of even more than that?

I know a lot of people scoff at the very idea of telepathy or telekinesis, but our own government thought it was enough of a possibility they threw a few million at it during the Stargate Project.

Granted our government throws a few million at toilet seats.  But I digress.

There is a persisting myth that we use only 10% of our brains so therefore there MUST be something more we can do with them.  The truth is we use the WHOLE of our brains.  Just not all at once.  So what does that mean?  Is there no room left for anything else, anything “special”?

I think there is.  After all, despite all the advances we’ve made in science and technology and medicine, there’s still so much we don’t know about our own physical brains, let alone our psychological selves.  Whose to say that some of us aren’t capable of seeing the dead, pouring a cup of coffee, or turning on a light with just the power of our minds?

And then there’s Quantum Physics and the idea that our thoughts effect the behavior of subatomic particles.  Which means, theoretically, we can move things, alter things, with our minds.

I know that sounds downright made, but in reality Quantum Physics experiments are beginning to explain things that regular Physics just can’t and completely bonkers theories are starting to look like realities, thanks to pioneering experiments such as the one that may just prove Einstein wrong when he claimed nothing could travel faster than light.

In any case, right or wrong, the idea is fun to toy with.  After all, what’s cooler than a guy who can throw fireballs or pin you to a wall with his mind?

So, what do you think?  Could clairvoyance, telepathy, or telekinesis actually be possible?  Or are we kidding ourselves?

Who is your favorite character with psychic abilities?  Bet you can guess who mine is …

8 thoughts on “Supernatural Saturday: Quantum Physics, Toilet Seats, and Deanna Troi

  1. I love SciFi…My T.V is always on the SciFi channel…I don’t write paranormal, but I’ve considered it..I love Paranormal Kids, which is on Bravo. It’s really a wonderful show, about kids with abilities, and how they are helped by a psychic medium. I think that’s my fav…But I do love Haven!!

Leave a Reply

