Writer Wednesday: A God By Any Other Name

And so, my friends, the IWU Blog Tour returns once again.  This time bringing with it the estimable Athanasios.  (Told you I had a thing for Greek gods.)
First and most important, if you were a Star Trek® (or Star Wars®) character, which one would it be and why? 

I would be Lord Palpatine or as mos know him, the Emperor. As to why, besides the

obvious that HE’S THE EMPEROR, he defeated ALMOST ALL the Jedi and nearly ruled the whole galaxy.

You make a fair point.  As long as, you know, the whole EVIL thing doesn’t bother you.  Then again, I guess the EVIL things sort of depends on which side you’re on, no?  But I digress.  What’s your ideal full-time job (apart from writing)?

Benevolent dictator of my own city state. Oh we’re not still in flights of fancy? Writing, illustrating & researching paranormal, historical & crack pot ideas in documentaries, books and the web. I’m nearly there.

Flights of fancy are totally acceptable.  I’ve always wanted to be a dictator.  What are you doing when you’re not writing?

Many different things. Mostly taking care of my pets, parents, home, wife, mother in law, my parents home, mother in law’s home.  I also cook, watch an abundant amount of television, movies, documentaries.  I’ve returned to reading and am now on the Song of Ice and Fire series by George RR Martin, because I just couldn’t wait to find out what happened after Game of Thrones.

You are one busy man.  My hat’s off to you, sir.  Metaphorically speaking, of course.  Describe your first book in three sentences.

This first sentence doesn’t count because it’s an explanation, I do describe my first book in 3 sentences, it’s my KDP book description.   OK 4 sentences.

Kostadino Paleologos is a descendant of Byzantine emperors and lives with honour, duty and sacrifice. Every year he returns to Istanbul and sends trapped souls to their deserved rest. The final soul in this solemn task sends him on a quest to the mythic, ancient Library of Alexandria. There he finds the Idammah-Gan Codex, a unique book which convinces him to abduct the infant Antichrist and raise him as his own. They live life on the run pursued by Satanists, Catholic Church & Dark Nobility, who want the baby back or dead.

Sorry I don’t like playing by rules.

Yes.  I realize that about you.  I notice there’s some mythological goodness in your work.  Have you always been interested in mythology?

Yes. It began when I was in grade 2 in Greece.  I’m originally from Canada but my parentsmoved back to Greece and enrolled me & my sister in school.  It was a culture shock let me tell you, but the thing that kept it from being too overwhelming was the myths taught, just as fables are taught in North America, were engrossing.  They were the reason I became so taken with religion in general.  My parents weren’t very religious, my father hurried the priest up when he was being married, so I didn’t have much instruction on the subject.  Then when I found out these myths were what my ancestors believed in as religion, I thought that since they were wrong then religion must be wrong to somebody, because nobody could agree on it. I’m rambling but it’s a good rambling, I hope.

Excuse me.  Who says they’re wrong?  Are you telling me Aphrodite isn’t real?????  (Totally explains where I’m going wrong.)  What’s up next, book-wise, for Athanasios?

Commitment. Mad Gods sequel. Adam is being courted HARD by demons summoned from hell for that express purpose.  He’s receiving tribute from serial killers and immensely deluded cult leaders who consider him their Redeemer.  He’s also being called the Final Consort to the Unified Pagan Church who believe he is to be their Redeemer, their One.  Satan, his Biblical and biological father in Hell, sends up a newly formed lord of the pits to bring Adam into the fold he was born to lead.  This new demon lord has a waiting throng of followers on earth who have been worshiping him since the fall of the Third Reich.  They believe that his return to earth heralds the Final Reich, where these Teutonic Knights will finish what they began in Germany under Hitler’s reign. All this adoration got to Adam and he just cracked, so he spends most of Commitment in an insane asylum, blithely content that at least some of his fans can’t get to him.

See, now that’s another thing I’ve always wanted: tribute from serial killers.  I better go put it on my Bucket List right now …
And now for something completely different:
Favourite flavour of ice cream?

No one favorite. I just don’t really like chocolate ice cream but most flavors are A-okay with me.

No chocolate ice cream?  I’m sorry.  I can’t talk to you anymore.
If you ruled the world, what are the first three laws you would pass?  

1. Do Onto Others as You Would Have Them Do Onto You

2. Be Humane to All Animals Even the Ugly Ones

3. Kill All the Lawyers

Good laws.  But don’t we already have those?  I’m sure “Kill all the lawyers” is part of the Ten Commandments.
If and when Armageddon strikes, what three items will you take into the fallout shelter?

A bottle of Jameson, 4 litres of Coke and a self detonating bomb.  I would drink the Jameson with the coke until completely pissed, then I would blow myself up because I wouldn’t want to go on without the distractions I’ve come to love in my life.  I include friends, family, pets and entertainment in said distractions.

Now you went and made me all depressed.  Last, but not least:
Zombies or vampires? 

Pish, vampires, no brainer.  Zombies are brainless automatons bent on eating flesh, they can’t even walk fast. Vampires are immortal, have incredibly enhanced physical capabilities and are man’s predator, what’s not to prefer them over zombies. Unless I would have to fight them, then my choice would be a complete 180, zombies over vampires.

You should really be more specific in that question.

                            Yeah, I get that a lot. 
                            You can buy Athanasios’s book here:
                            (Do it before the zombies get you.  Or the vampires.)
 
Amazon                  http://www.amazon.com/dp/B004QOA768
7 thoughts on “Writer Wednesday: A God By Any Other Name

  1. Hi Shea. Liked your “why writers will survive the zombies” article. Notice you are writing a series. Contact me at lynda@okalrel.org if you’d be interested in working up a “continuing characters” appearance for my blog, Reality Skimming. Features image of character as well as author, and two questions for each.

Leave a Reply

