Writer Wednesday: The Randomness of It All!

There is a game of tag going around the blogging community right now, and I guess I’m”it”.

No, not that It.

I’ve been tagged by the awesome Samantha Warren. To play, you simply need to be tagged by someone. Then you list 10 random facts about yourself and tag four more people. Here are my random facts. Brace yourselves!

1.  I’ve been obsessed with cemeteries and gravestones since I was a kid.  No idea why.  Maybe it’s because my parents used to drag us kids to the local family cemetery down at the Oregon Coast once a year for a gardening session.  In any case, I still find them wonderfully peaceful and full of inspirational little sparks flying around.

2.  I love coffee.  I love chocolate.  I love eating chocolate things while drinking coffee.  What I hate is when they mix coffee and chocolate together.  Like putting a few teaspoons of coffee into a chocolate cake.  Or coffee cream filled chocolates.  NASTY!  I love mochas, though.  Go figure.

3.  I’m allergic to seafood.  Which is fine by me.  I hate fish with an ever loving passion.

4.  I am also obsessed with the apocalypse.  Or rather, surviving said apocalypse and rebuilding society like a futuristic Swiss Family Robinson.  Again, no idea why.

5.  I’ve been living here five years, but I still sometimes wander around London gaping like a bloody tourist.  All I can do is think in awe, “I live here.  I really, really live here.”

6.  Willy Wonky and the Chocolate Factory scared the ever lovin’ beejesus out of me when I was a kid.  You know when the German boy falls into the river of chocolate and then gets sucked up that tube?  Then they all travel with Willy Wonka through that creepy tunnel on that horrid boat?  Yeah, nightmares for weeks.

7.  I once had the most amazingly vivid dream about vampires from outer space.  (Yes, I know how odd that is that Willy Wonky gives me nightmares but vampires from outer space are fun.) Yes, I will write a book about it.

8.  I’m mildly obsessed with Latin dance.  I’ve learned salsa, meringue, forro’, samba, and some other dance I can’t pronounce but has something to do with Carnivale in Rio.  Yes, sometimes I let loose and boogie in my bedroom.  You got a problem with that?

9.  I used to be able to quote every line in The Princess Bride.  I’m pretty sure I can still do most of it.

10.  I’m actually the normal one in my family.  No really.  Ask anyone.

And now TAG … these guys are IT!

PJ Jones

L.M. Pruitt

Prudence MacLeod (No relation.  Honest.  Not that either of us would mind if we were!)

Gene Lempp

22 thoughts on “Writer Wednesday: The Randomness of It All!

  1. Phew, I saw the ‘Prudence’ in the tag list and my heart flipped over. You’ve already shifted me so far from my comfort zone with the questions you asked me ready for Sept 7th, I wondered if I could do it again. But its a different Prue, so my heart can quieten again!

  2. Shea, this is great! I feel like I know you better than the people I hang out with most days. Latin dance and vampires from another planet. And you are the normal one in the family. Those are the things that stood out. LOL I absolutely love that you are so passionate about where you are living…sounds like a wonderful dream. Have a great day!

    1. I’m so glad you enjoyed it, Theresa! It was great fun trying to think up 10 things I hadn’t really shared before that were fun and perhaps a bit kooky. (Okay, so coming up with kooky things wasn’t hard. lol)

  3. Ah, The Princess Bride! I loved every minute of it. 🙂
    Vizzini: You only think I guessed wrong! That’s what’s so funny! I switched glasses when your back was turned! Ha ha! You fool! You fell victim to one of the classic blunders, the most famous of which is “never get involved in a land war in Asia”, but only slightly less well-known is this: “Never go against a Sicilian when death is on the line!” Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha… :::falls over dead::::

    1. It should be a life skills requirement. Like when you go on job interviews you have to quote the entire shrieking eels scene. lol

      England is an amazing place to live. Just be prepared for lots of rain and a 2 week summer. 🙂

  4. Oh wow, seeing that “IT” picture brought back memories when i was younger and that movie came out! never saw clowns quite the same again! yikes! i’ll post something about me sometime and then tag someone on my follow list to also do one 😉 (GRIN)

  5. As per my comment over at Mesmered, we share an obsession with dreadful sci-fi movies. And now cemeteries!

    But your liking mochas and London is where we go our separate ways. Galleries and museums aside, the only good thing about London is the range of coffee bars, but a mocha is an abomination that probably originated in one of those irradiation events reffed over at Mesmered.

    BTW can’t wait ’til the 7th to see what you’ve done to poor Prue!

  6. “She who hangs out in cemetries” (?!) And London has such great cemetries to hang out in too! Have you tries the one behind Stoke Newington Church St? It has lots of really old spooky gravestones and it is really overgrown which is great. But beware of creepy drunk men! I too am obsessed with surviving the apocaypse (I think my six floor flat will be a good hideout from zombie attack, but not against air-borne aliens – see Attack the Block), hate fish, love chocolate and coffee but actually like them together say in a coffee cream quality street. Yum. London is good but exhausting by about the 14th year. So good luck with that and thanks for another entertaining post!

    1. I haven’t tried that one. Sounds like it needs to be added to the list.

      And a 6th floor flat is an excellent place to hide from zombie attack. Though I recommend making sure you’ve a sniper rifle handy.

  7. Hey, Shea! (Sorry, no idea how to the the accent over your name on this computer)

    I follow you on twitter, but I hadn’t checked out your blog yet! I’m really enjoying it and I loved your zombie post over at David’s blog today. Great stuff. Already subscribed, just wanted to say hi!

    E

Leave a Reply

