Writer Wednesday: Uhura, Friendly Ghosts, and Chosen

Once more into the breach!

The IWU Never Ending Blog Tour continues with yet another remarkable indie author and manager of chaos, Jolea M. Harrison.

SM:  I want to start with a REALLY important question, one which I ask all my guests: if you were a Star Trek® [or Star Wars® ] character, which one would it be?

JH:  From Star Trek, which I’ve watched since I was a kid – I’d be Uhura. She broke a lot of barrier and kicked butt. Does it have to be OR? I’d be a Wookie on Star Wars, the trusted sidekick!

SM:  I don’t blame you.  Uhura is full of awesome!  You’ve got a book out right nowcalled Chosen.  Can you tell us more about your book and the inspiration behind it?

JH:  The series is called The Guardians of the Word. The First Chronicle, Chosen is about a young man trying to figure out who he is, thrown into a situation he isn’t at all prepared to deal with, and finding a way to manage it with the stakes as high as they can get. On a larger scale it’s about good and evil and what throws the universe out of whack when one gains more power than the other. Was it the forces of good that caused the imbalance that allowed the forces of evil to escape? Or was it the other way around? By the end of the series that question might be answered.

SM:  I notice that your book has elements of the supernatural (which I love!).  Have you always been interested in writing about the paranormal?

JH:  It didn’t occur to me until recently how much growing up in a house with a ghost has influenced my writing, but once I started thinking about it with that reference, I thought, well, of course. And the ghost in my house is the real deal. Other people have written about their experiences with her. She is my house protector. Way better than a fire detector!

SM:  I can imagine growing up with a ghost would have a HUGE impact on your writing.  That’s really cool!  Are you working on anything new?

JH:  Not at the moment. I’m editing and dealing with some continuity issues in the next book in the series, Myth, but for the first time in a long while, I started thinking about some ideas for a new story, so that’s exciting. After I get through the edit on these next two in the series I may take a break and pick up the pen.

SM:  Thanks for stopping by my blog!

JH:  Thanks for having me for a visit!

You can find my book, Chosen, here –  Chosen on Amazon

And on Smashwords here – Chosen on Smashwords

I’m on Facebook here – Jolea M. Harrison facebook

My blog is here – http://jm-harrison.com/

And on twitter here – http://twitter.com/joleab

Here’s the blurb for Chosen:

For everyone else in the world, getting stabbed in the heart means instant death. All it does for Dynan Telaerin is send him to hell.

In Chosen, Jolea M. Harrison transports us to a world on the cusp of destruction, caught in a thousand year cycle of ever-repeating time, trapped between the warring Gods and the demon, Belial, with one young hero chosen to save not just the world, but the Gods themselves.

Dynan finds himself on a corpse-strewn hillside, uncertain if he’s dead or alive, charged with saving the soul of his ancestor, the most powerful telepath to ever exist. Dynan has telepathic powers of his own, only he doesn’t know how to use them. With monsters and minions trying to eat his soul, the demon’s lair isn’t a place conducive to learning anything, except how to run and how to hide.

Can Dynan find his ancestor before the fabric of time is torn beyond repair? Will courage alone be enough to face the greatest evil to exist? Will he lose his soul to save everyone else?

The running starts, and doesn’t stop to the end of this action packed adventure of a young man coming to terms with his life while he’s barely a spirit, through horrors he thought existed only in dreams.

Chosen is the first book of a 7 book series, entitled The Guardians of the Word.

 

 

8 thoughts on “Writer Wednesday: Uhura, Friendly Ghosts, and Chosen

  1. Great interview and this book sounds awesome! And Jolea, I’m jealous! I always look for ghosts, but I’m not sure if there are any around. I definitely have some guardian angels nearby. Maybe that’s the same thing!?

    Shea, love your website!

Leave a Reply

