Writer Wednesday: Restless Spirits

The next guest on the chopping block   blog is the fabulous Jean Marie Bauhaus.  Thanks so much for taking the time to be here today, Jean.SM:  I want to start with a REALLY important question which I ask all my victims guests: if you were a Star Trek® [or Star Wars® ] character, which one would it be?

JMB:  First of all, thanks for having me, Shea! 

When I was little and playing Star Wars with my friends, I was ALWAYS Princess Leia. Now that I’m much older and wiser… I would still be Princess Leia, because she’s pretty badass, and she gets to make out with Han Solo.

As for which Trek character I’m most like… probably Bones. I can be pretty crotchety. 

SM:  I’m totally with you on the Princess Leia thing.  Hello!  Who wouldn’t want to make out with Han Solo?As for Bones, yeah.  Sigh.  He’s HAWT.  Oh … wait. You meant the other Bones.  Pity. 😉

So, I was looking at your blog and I see you have a book out: Restless Spirits.  (Blurb: A paranormal investigator becomes the subject of her own investigation after stumbling into the crosshairs of a malevolent spirit. Finding herself a ghost and imprisoned in a house that’s haunted by the spirit’s other victims from across the ages, Veronica “Ron” Wilson discovers an afterlife that’s full of surprises, the biggest of which is that ghosts can still fall in love.) 

Now THAT sounds right up my alley!  Can you tell us more about it?

JMB:  I can. I think it was shortly after I saw The Grudge that the question first occurred to me — if someone dies horribly and becomes this evil avenging spirit who murders everyone in its path, then what happens to the spirits of the people it kills? Do they become evil avenging spirits, too, or do they just get pissed off at the ORIGINAL avenging spirit and gang up on it? I wrote Restless Spirits mainly to answer that question.

SM:  That sounds ridiculously cool!  Have you always been interested in writing about the paranormal?

JMB:  I’ve always been fascinated with the idea of the other — non-human beings or entities living among us, either battling against us or trying to fit in and have relationships with us. And ghost stories have always scared me. I’m not sure what I believe about ghosts — as a religious person I believe in angels and demons as depicted in the Bible, but I’m not sure that the Bible is quite as definitive about ghosts as most Christians claim, and I’m not sure where ghosts fit into that equation. At any rate, they freak me out. A few years ago I started watching Ghost Hunters and researching the paranormal mainly to confront that fear and desensitize myself to it a little. And that, of course, fed into Restless Spirits and my protagonist’s background as a paranormal investigator.


SM:  Are you working on anything new?

 

JMB:  I’m currently writing Dominion of the Damned, which explores how vampires would react to a zombie apocalypse that threatened to do away with their food supply. It should be ready for release in October.

SM:  Vampires and a Zombie Apocalypse?  Oh, goodie!  I can hardly wait!  Sounds like two of my favorite things rolled up into one tasty treat.

Thanks again, Jean.  Wishing you much success.

Seriously, does it get any cooler than avenging ghosts and vampires in a zombie apocalypse?  I think not!  To learn more about Jean’s books, check out her website.

You can find Restless Spirits on Amazon, Barnes & Noble or Smashwords.  Best of all?  It’s only $2.99!

For those of us in the UK, it’s also on Amazon UK for just £2.14.

10 thoughts on “Writer Wednesday: Restless Spirits

  1. I just read the description of her next book “Dominion of the Damned” to my decadent husband. His response: “Heh, I was just thinking, the other day, that vampires were zombies with style.” Hehe.

    Both of those books sound cool. If I ever finish mine and give myself a break, they may be added to my queue. 😀

      1. The correct title is “decadent husband.” He was a total geek (and still is at heart) when we first got together in high school. I met him at my friend’s band practice (death metal, rowwwrrr) and I couldn’t take my eyes off his fingers as they elegantly sped over the strings. Sure, he was this hawt musician, but he was only months out of a kilt (playing bagpipes in the high school band) and still wore glasses (I lurved his glasses, actually, and I miss them to this day – though I’m glad he got those pesky mutant cataracts removed, of course). I must call him my decadent husband because he doesn’t believe it to this day. He’s still stuck in that kilt and science club in his head and his heart. 😀

        Extra lucky for me. Can’t stop kissing him and he can keep up with me in conversation. 😀

        And I don’t know why I just went on and on about him. ~_~ooo

Leave a Reply

