Amazon Hold Back The Growth Of E-Books Around The World (via David Gaughran)

Why I encourage all my readers who are not in Amazon’s “Golden Zone” to buy my book from Smashwords. http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/70109

Amazon Hold Back The Growth Of E-Books Around The World Writers often wonder why the growth of e-books is so much slower in the rest of the world. There are a number of reasons for that, but one big factor is the $2 surcharge that Amazon levies on all e-books in most international countries. This charge is levied by Amazon, and kept by Amazon, and has nothing to do with taxes. This charge is applied whether the user downloads e-books through their Kindle or not, and whether the user even owns a Kindle … Read More

via David Gaughran

3 thoughts on “Amazon Hold Back The Growth Of E-Books Around The World (via David Gaughran)

  1. Yes, it’s one of the reasons I buy from Smashwords when possible. An other is that I prefer having a balance between multiple “ebooks retailers” rather than between a few (or even of One a.k.a. a monopoly )

    Some authors prefer people buying from one of the “big” resellers (Amazon, Kobo, B&N) so that the sales are taken into account in their ranking, hence increasing visibility…

  2. i admit that I personally prefer BUYING books through Amazon. Why?

    I own a Kindle 3G which means my Amazon purchases are directly downloaded onto my Kindle without me having to mess around. Also, I live in the UK, so no surcharge.

    However, anyone outside what I call “the Amazon Golden Zone” (Listed in Dave’s article, but basically UK, US, Australia, Canada, Germany, Ireland and a few other places.) is better off buying through Smashwords. So, yeah, it doesn’t help my Amazon ranking. But I’d rather have happy readers.

    1. Oh, I understand that with the 3G Kindle, it is much easier.
      I however am “burdened” (but happy) with my Nook, and can’t purchase directly on it, hence going forcibly through my computer for buying. I guess I would have a different experience with direct 3G buying.

Leave a Reply

